Skip to main content

Edwin & Alma N. '51 Lakin Holocaust Library & Resource Center: Borrowing

Collection Description

The collection, housed in the Resource Center and the library at-large, consists of over 2323 different titles (2600 volumes) and more than 290 video, sound and computer titles dealing with all aspects of the rise of Nazi Germany, World War II, and the Holocaust, as well as over 3 dozen taped interviews with survivors and liberators.  Holocaust materials are available in the general collection, as well as in a special collection housed in the Lakin Holocaust Center / J. Bennett Nolan Room on the second floor of the library. Included in the collection are books for both reference and reading, curriculum materials, and videos. Most of the books in the Holocaust collection are duplicates of the materials in the general collection. There are also non-circulating copies of video and audio tapes which contain the testimony of local Holocaust survivors, liberators, and their families. The room contains facilities for viewing these tapes.

Finding Materials of Interest

To find a book or AV material, enter your search here:

  • Holocaust materials are labeled with the item type Holocaust Book ot Holocaust media.
  • To perform a more comprehensive search, use the cataLION advanced search option.  The advanced search option allows Holocaust patrons to limit by Holocaust  book or media while searching so only items available on the Holocaust borrowers card display. Log in to be able to see what you checked out, place holds and create saved lists.

Most materials dealing with the Holocaust are shelved on the third floor of the Library in 940.5315 and 940.5318, while information on Nazi Germany can be found in the 943.086 area. The Holocaust materials in the Nolan Room (second floor of the Library), except for any locally produced tapes and reference materials, may also circulate to Holocaust patrons. In order to use any of the materials housed in the Nolan Room, you must call for an appointment or come during the Lakin HRC operating hours listed on the Holocaust Resource Library Home Page.

Borrowing Materials

HOW TO OBTAIN A HOLOCAUST BORROWERS CARD:  All materials located with the "Search Holocaust Library" search strategy are available to be borrowed without charge by anyone with a Holocaust borrowers card.  Contact the Circulation Department to obtain a card.  To obtain a card you need a photo ID and need to be over the age of 18.  Cards are renewed annually and children can use cards obtained by their parents.  Further information on the circulation policies attached to the Holocaust Borrowers card is available online.

For further information on what types of materials are available or for assistance in finding specific items,
please contact the Lakin HRC Coordinator,  Amanda Hornberger (
HRC@albright.edu or 610-921-7214)