LION: Resources in Sculpture: Article Databases

Quick Database Tips

Alexander Calder, Cheval Rouge (Red Horse), 1974

If you search the artist's name in quotations you are more likely to find relevant sources:

"Kiki Smith"
"Alexander Calder"
"Joseph Beuys"
"Constantin Brancusi"
"Christo and Jeanne-Claude"
"Josephy Cornell"
"Marcel Duchamp"
"Eva Hesse"
"Jeff Koons"

Try searching the artist's name along with the title of a specific work:

"Alexander Calder" AND "Cheval Rouge"
"Kiki Smith" AND Rabbits
"Jeff Koons" and "Balloon Dog"
"Christo and Jeanne-Claude" AND "The Gates"

What is Lion One Search?

LION One Search is an online research tool that “pulls together” almost all of our Library resources so that they can be explored using a single search box. In other words, rather than searchingthe cataLION library catalog for books and one of the Albright Library databases such as Academic Search Complete for journal articles, you can do a LION One Search and get results which include books, e-books, journal articles, and government documents in one list. In fact, you could think of LION One Search as the Library’s version of Google searching for quality library resources..

Use the cataLION catalog to find books, e-books and DVDs at Albright

Advanced Search

Art Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of more than 8,500 fulltext periodicals with pdf content going back as far as 1887. Includes indexing and abstracting for more than 12,500 periodicals.
ARTstor
ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Coverage includes images from prehistoric times to the present day.
ARTstor digitizes and provides high-quality images from numerous museums, academic institutions, and private foundations. It comes with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a shared digital library that includes the fulltext of more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume published. Coverage varies depending on the journal title.
Due to "moving wall" agreements with the publishers, JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 1-5 years after the publishing date.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 400 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Coverage varies by publication; the earliest date of inclusion is 1990.

You can have a personal account with Artstor which allows you to save, download, and organize images.

https://support.artstor.org/hc/en-us/articles/360021395193?page_id=52

Search ARTstor