LION: EDU 700: Graduate Seminar: Article Databases

Qualitative Research

Qualitative research is often used to explore and understand people’s beliefs, experiences, attitudes, behavior, and interactions. Qualitative approaches seek to understand why people think or act the way that they do.

TIP: To find articles in ERIC use the phrase "Qualitative Research" as one of your search terms.

Digging Deeper--Finding Magazines, Journals & Newspapers

Check scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. Library databases will lead to articles in scholarly journals and are a good place to start:

Academic Search Complete

A multidisciplinary database of more than 8,500 fulltext periodicals with pdf content going back as far as 1887. Includes indexing and abstracting for more than 12,500 periodicals.

Off-campus users will be asked to enter their LionLink username and password to access the library’s databases. Call 610-921-7211 or email libraryref@albright.edu for assistance.

PLEASE NOTE: If you feel you are not getting the materials you need, please ask for help at the Reference Desk or check out our Complete List of Library Databases.

Subject Databases

ERIC/EDRS This link opens in a new window
An online digital library of education research and information, sponsored in part by the U.S. Department of Education. Coverage dates 1966-present
Contains references to non-journal material issued in the monthly Resources in Education (RIE) and to journal articles issued in the monthly Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a shared digital library that includes the fulltext of more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume published. Coverage varies depending on the journal title.
Due to "moving wall" agreements with the publishers, JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 1-5 years after the publishing date.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
A renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Coverage: citations to journals, 1887-present; book citations 1997-present
Sage Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Fulltext access from 1999 to a subset of the over 450 journals in 40 disciplines. Coverage 1999-present depending on source.
Select "SAGE Journals Available to Me" for fulltext articles available at Albright or search "All SAGE Content" for additional items that can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan (Tipasa).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information
online. Coverage varies by title. Most fulltext begins 1995.
Supports physical sciences and engineering; the life sciences; the health sciences; and the social sciences and humanities
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
World's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. Coverage: Full text coverage spans from 1904 to present for 777 of the journals, indexing from 1895 to present for other sources
Coverage includes abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

EDU 700: Graduate Seminar: Article Databases

Qualitative Research

Digging Deeper--Finding Magazines, Journals & Newspapers

Subject Databases

Video: Quick Tips & Shortcuts for Database Searching