ART 103 -- Design (Spring 2015): Finding ArtWork

Jean Auguste Dominique Ingres, La Grande Odalisque, 1814, oil on canvas, Louvre, Paris.

The Artstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Our community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

• ARTstor (requires login) ARTstor contains over one million images covering all periods of art, architecture, and archeology including contemporary art & design.With over 60 collections, use ARTstor's capability to view and save images into a personal folder as well as make presentations. To save groups of images and to print and download images for permitted uses you will need to register. ARTstor HelpDownload Images to PowerPoint
• Art Images for College Teaching
  Free images of art and architectural works in the pubic domain. Includes a textbook concordance to several standard art history textbooks,   allowing users to cross-reference AICT images to these books.
• New York Public Library Digital Gallery
  A wide ranging collection of images, including the arts.
• Smithsonian Collection Search
• Visual Arts Data Service (VADS ) VADS is an online resource of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.
• Web Gallery of Art
  Free virtual image museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 12th to mid-19th centuries.