It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice by Frank P. Williams (Editor); Marilyn D. McShane (Editor)From boot camps to truancy, this book provides more than 200 up-to-date and concise entries in a single, authoritative volume. The editors cover historical and contemporary theories, concepts, and real-world practices of juvenile justice in the United States. The entries address a broad range of issues and topics, such as alcohol and drug abuse, arson, the death penalty for juveniles, computer and Internet crime, gun violence, gangs, missing children, school violence, teen pregnancy, and delinquency theories. In addition, topics cover society's response to the problems of juvenile justice, punishments meted out to America's juvenile offenders, juvenile rehabilitation programs, and well-known researchers and professionals in the field.
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2002-12-18
Gangs by Adela Soliz (Editor)A compendium of viewpoints--both pro and con--on several issues relating to the prevalence of gangs in American society.
The Handbook of Gangs by Scott H. Decker (Editor); David C. Pyrooz (Editor)Pulling together the most salient, current issues in the field today, The Handbook of Gangs provides a significant assessment by leading scholars of key topics related to gangs, gang members, and responses to gangs. * Chapters cover a wide array of the most prominent issues in the field of gangs, written by scholars who have been leaders in developing new ways of thinking about the topics * Delivers cutting-edge reviews of the current state of research and practice and addresses where the field has been, where it is today and where it should go in the future * Includes extensive coverage of the individual theories of delinquency and provides special emphasis on policy and prevention program implications in the study of gangs * Offers a broad understanding of how other countries deal with gangs and their response to gangs, including Great Britain, Latin America, Australia and Europe * Chapters covering the legacies of four pioneers in gang research--Malcolm W. Klein, Walter B. Miller, James F. Short Jr., and Irving A. Spergel
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2015-07-21
Juvenile Homicides by Minna K. LaurikkalaLaurikkala studies youth homicides between 1965 and 1995 in Chicago. She considers variables relating to the offender, victim, setting, and precursors to the homicide by race and gender. Her results indicate that youth homicides involved increases in lethal gang altercations, particularly among Latinos, and an increased use of automatic weapons. Young females had very little impact on homicide rates in Chicago. The findings point to several measures of social disorganization that could aid in the prediction of youth homicides, albeit varying across groups.
Call Number: Online Acess
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
U. S. Latinos and Criminal Injustice by Lupe S. SalinasLatinos in the United States encompass a broad range of racial, socioeconomic, and sociopolitical identities. Originating from the Caribbean, Spain, Central and South America, and Mexico, they have unique justice concerns. The ethnic group includes U.S. citizens, authorized resident aliens, and undocumented aliens, a group that has been a constant partner in the Latino legal landscape for over a century. This book addresses the development and rapid growth of the Latino population in the United States and how race-based discrimination, hate crimes, and other prejudicial attitudes, some of which have been codified via public policy, have grown in response. Salinas explores the degrading practice of racial profiling, an approach used by both federal and state law enforcement agents; the abuse in immigration enforcement; and the use of deadly force against immigrants. The author also discusses the barriers Latinos encounter as they wend their way through the court system. While all minorities face the barrier of racially based jury strikes, bilingual Latinos deal with additional concerns, since limited-English-proficient defendants depend on interpreters to understand the trial process. As a nation rich in ethnic and racial backgrounds, the United States, Salinas argues, should better strive to serve its principles of justice.
Violento, luego existo. Pandillas y maras en Guatemala by Reséndiz Rivera, Nelly ErandySpanish Book: El barrio 18 y la Mara Salvatrucha proliferan en contextos donde la pruducción de la violencia se agudiza. Las pandillas pertenecen a una realidad dominante de muerte y optan por reproducir relaciones injustas de poder. Estos conjuntos exponen la regularidad del uso de las agresiones en Guatemala, por tanto, los ataques que dirigen a la sociedad, las conductas intergrupales y las embestidas que les propina el Estado y algunos sectores de la población son materia de análisis. Para pensar a las clicas nos preguntamos: ¿qué fines persiguen?, ¿qué lógicas concretas explican su permanencia y cambio? y ¿qué fenómenos se asocian a su presencia? Dichas interrogantes son abordadas en este libro.
Call Number: 2018
THE CONSTRUCTION OF THE MARAS: Between Politicization and Securitization by Antonia DoesHigh levels of crime and violence in Central America’s northern triangle are a major preoccupation of politicians, policy-makers and citizens. Public authorities in El Salvador, Honduras and Guatemala have sought repressive measures to increase public safety and to contain such violence, for which youth gangs (maras) are principally held responsible. Substantiated by interviews with key stakeholders in Geneva, Switzerland, this desk review offers a comprehensive understanding of the motivations and the intended effects behind the suppressive strategies of the respective governments.
The assessment is based on federal, state, local, and tribal law enforcement and corrections agency intelligence, including information and data provided by the National Drug Intelligence Center (NDIC) and the National Gang Center.
The FBI's electronic reading room, containing 6,700 documents and other media that have declassified thanks to FOIA requests, and have been scanned from paper into digital copies. Includes FBI Reports on specific gangs.
Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Black and Gold by Marc Francis filmmaker; Nick Francis filmmakerIn 1994, the Latin Kings - the largest and most powerful street gang in New York - became the Latin King and Queen Nation. They claimed to have abandoned their criminal past and to be following in the footsteps of the Black Panthers and the Young Lords. With over 3,000 members in New York, some saw the Latin King and Queen Nation as the most important political voice to rise from the streets in decades. The NYPD did not agree, calling them a vicious gang with a PR campaign. One thing is certain, the City was never the same after the Nation went downtown. In 1997 Big Noise films became the only media group ever given unrestricted access to the Nation. For two years they ran with the Kings and Queens in New York City, filming on the front lines of their everyday struggle for survival. 'Black and Gold' explores a reality that is too often reduced to a stereotype or a slogan. Its unblinking lens puts you at the center of a complex and controversial movement. The Nation was one of the major forces that made police violence and the prison system political issues in New York City. But from the beginning the NYPD has questioned the sincerity of the Nation's political involvement, and has systematically worked to dismantle what they see as the most dangerous street gang in the City. Their efforts culminated in a spectacular midnight raid on May 15, 1998 when over 1,000 Federal and City agents simultaneously raided homes across the city making over 100 arrests in what was the largest coordinated FBI action since prohibition. 'Black and Gold' lets you feel the tension inside the movement as it comes under fire from midnight police raids and assassination attempts. In the end it shows us both the black and the gold - both the fear and violence of the street and the fierce love inside the most dangerous movement in the City. "Black and Gold offers a potent portrait of bootstraps idealism in an embattled community ... this energetically packaged documentary deserves to be seen." - Dennis Harvey, VARIETY.
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2007
The Seventh Fire by Jack Pettibone Riccobono (Filmmaker)When Rob Brown, a Native American gang leader on a remote Minnesota reservation, is sentenced to prison for a fifth time, he must confront his role in bringing violent drug culture into his beloved Ojibwe community. As Rob reckons with his past, his seventeen-year-old protege, Kevin, dreams of the future: becoming the most powerful and feared Native gangster on the reservation.
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2016
The Interrupters by Alex Kotlowitz, Steve James (Filmmakers)The Interrupters tells stories of three violence interrupters who try to protect their Chicago communities from the violence they once employed. The film's main subjects work for an innovative organization, CeaseFire. Founded by an epidemiologist who believes that the spread of violence mimics the spread of infectious diseases, and so the treatment should be similar: go after the most infected, and stop the infection at its source. One of the cornerstones of the organization is the violence interrupters program. The Interrupters--who have credibility on the streets because of their own personal histories--intervene in conflicts before they explode into violence.
Call Number: Online Access &
Publication Date: 2011
The Heart Broken in Half by Jack Pettibone Riccobono (Filmmaker)Gangs are society's ultimate devil figure. They symbolize transgression and embody the deepest fears of middle class citizens. Few filmmakers have dared or been able to get behind the headlines to confront the human reality and complexity of street gangs in urban America. THE HEART BROKEN IN HALF challenges stereotypes, giving a voice to the street youths and revealing their underground culture, uncovering an intricate web of symbols and passions, territory and brotherhood, honor and all too often, death.
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 1990
Online Video Resources
BBC News: The Lost Streets of Chicago
WARNING: CONTAINS VERY STRONG LANGUAGE Killings in Chicago have hit a 20-year high as the grim toll for homicides passes 500. The BBC's Ian Pannell and Darren Conway explore a world where gangs and guns rule.
Inside a Gang Initiation with the Silent Murder Crips
Meet Gang Members From Chicago's West Side (HBO)
Chicago passes 1000 gunshot victims for the year. President Trump capitalized on Chicago’s troubles, and campaigned on finding the solution. 12 days after inauguration a pastor named Darrell Scott told President Trump he had a solution. Scott said “Top gang thugs” in Chicago had personally contacted him with a message for the president.