Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Red Hot Salsa by
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS591 .H58 R43 2005
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Pig Park by Seventeen-year-old Masi Burciaga's barrio becomes more like a ghost town every day, but when she and other youths are recruited to erect a giant pyramid in hopes of attracting tourists, she wonders about the entrepreneur behind the scheme--and his attractive son.
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.M36714 Pig 2014
Publication Date: 2014-10-14
The Closest I've Come by Marcos Rivas is desperate to escape the projects, his neglectful mother, and her abusive boyfriend, but when he is picked for a class at his high school targeting smart students who are underperforming, he initially resists.
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.1.A216 Cl 2017
Publication Date: 2017-11-07
They Both Die at the End by "On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They're going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they're both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There's an app for that. It's called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure--to live a lifetime in a single day.'"--
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.1.S54 Th 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
Agua, Agüita / Water, Little Water by "Describes--in English, Spanish, and Nahuat--the life cycle of water from the perspective of one drop"--
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ10.5.A7 Ag 2017
Publication Date: 2017-10-31
Banned Books Week (Sept 23-29)
Banned Books Week occurs during Hispanic Heritage Month, here is a list of books at the Loyola University Libraries by Hispanic/Latiinx authors that have either been banned or challenged.
Hispanic Heritage Month Read-In
Tales from la Vida by "Collection of comics created by Latinx artists and writers that comes together to shed light on their various autobiographical experiences as situated within the language, culture, history, and sociopolitics that inform Latinx hemispheric identities and subjectivities"--
Call Number: Lewis Library Main Stacks PN6725 .T35 2018
Publication Date: 2018-09-14
The House of Impossible Beauties by "A gritty and gorgeous debut that follows a cast of gay and transgender club kids navigating the Harlem ball scene of the 80s and 90s, inspired by the real House of Xtravaganza made famous by the seminal documentary "Paris is Burning""--
Call Number: Lewis Library Main Stacks PS3603.A86822 H68 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-06
Angelitos by A fictional retelling drawing on autobiographical elements to tell the real life story of Alejandro García Durán de Lara, popularly known as Padre Chinchachoma, a charismatic Catholic priest who devotes himself to rescuing homeless children in Mexico. Set in a deeply classist society and against the backdrop of the 1985 earthquake in Mexico City, the core of the story also revolves around a college student's fear that Padre Chincha might be sexually abusing the children he rescues, at a time and place when such actions went unchecked by the Catholic Church.
Call Number: Lewis Library Main Stacks PN6727.S677 A83 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-18
Drawing on Anger by "Drawing on Anger: Portraits of U.S. Hypocrisy is a collection of Eric J. García's most unabashed political cartoons about U.S. history and politics from 2004 to the present. They offer a scathing indictment of Republicans, Democrats, and the self-proclaimed greatest country on earth. Garcia reconstructs pivotal moments in history--such as U.S. complicity in the disappearance of forty-three Mexican students, genocide and torture in Iraq, and femicide along the U.S.--Mexico border--and reflects on the larger themes of anti-immigration laws, global imperialism, veterans affairs, and the conquest of the Americas. His cartoons are equally critical of both political parties and of both the United States and Mexico--lobbing criticism and satire in every direction. For over a decade García has been serving up inked visuals with the sharpest of political critiques through a Chicano lens. If you’re looking for funny punch lines, these aren't the cartoons for you. But if you want to pull down Uncle Sam's pants and see what’s really going on, this is your book."--Page 4 of cover.
Call Number: Lewis Library Main Stacks PN6727.G3785 D73 2018
Publication Date: 2018-09-04
Snapping Lines by "Snapping Lines" brings familiar and new stories together in a collection that explores the lives of loners searching for love. Jack Lopez writes about people who have adopted a stoical indifference to a world in which they always seem to find themselves on the losing end. These stories explore Latino male identity and the forces that shape it: friends, family, and lovers; culture, place, and relationships.
Call Number: Cudahy Library Main Stacks PS3562 .O67245 S63 2001
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
The Importance of a Piece of Paper by In his first foray into short fiction, award-winning poet and memoirist Jimmy Santiago Baca maps the territory where old-world traditions contend with new-world ambitions and disenfranchised characters struggle to make something of themselves in the world while somehow keeping their souls intact. In the title story, two siblings must face the brother who has betrayed them by selling his share of the family land and forsaking a centuries-old land grant, leaving an entire community vulnerable.
Call Number: Cudahy Library Main Stacks PS3552 .A254 I49 2004
Publication Date: 2004-02-09
The Day They Took My Uncle and Other Stories by Lionel Garcia believes that no one should read a short story and be the same person afterward. The fifteen stories in this collection have that effect. They will affect each reader differently but leave none untouched.
Call Number: Cudahy Library Main Stacks PS3557 .A71115 D3 2001
Publication Date: 2001-03-01
Have You Seen Marie? by "The word "orphan" might not seem to apply to a fifty-three-year-old woman. Yet this is exactly how Sandra feels as she finds herself motherless, alone like "a glove left behind at the bus station." What just might save her is her search for someone else gone missing: Marie, the black-and-white cat of her friend, Roz, who ran off the day they arrived from Tacoma. As Sandra and Roz scour the streets of San Antonio, posting flyers and asking everywhere, "Have you seen Marie?" the pursuit of this one small creature takes on unexpected urgency and meaning."--Jacket.
Call Number: Lewis Library Main Stacks PS3553.I78 H38 2012
Publication Date: 2012-10-02
Libros en español
El Amor en Los Tiempos Del Colera by The story of a fantastic wedding, the return of the bride to her parents in disgrace, her brothers' resolve to seek revenge on her corruptor, and the townspeoples' refusal to depart from routine.
Call Number: Lewis Library Main Stacks PQ8180.17.A73 A8 2003
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Antihistoria de México by Durante varias generaciones, México ha repetido una historia oficial cargada de proezas, superhombres, actos desinteresados y logros sublimes, y muchos historiadores han contribuido a ello: los escritores de derecha humillan a las figuras reverenciadas por la izquierda, como Benito Juárez, pero son incapaces de cuestionar a Lucas Alamán; al mismo tiempo, los de izquierda veneran ciegamente a figuras tan nocivas como Vicente Guerrero y Lázaro Cárdenas. Raúl Bringas Nostti, fiel a su compromiso con la historia cínica -aquella libre de prejuicios, valores e ideologías-: nos comparte una original visión de nuestro pasado, repleto de intereses y vacío de héroes. En Antihistoria de México el lector no encontrará la pesada lápida nacionalista ni pasiones ideológicas ni compromisos institucionales: se desconfía por igual de liberales, conservadores, marxistas, anarquistas, socialistas y toda la fauna política que puebla el mundo.
Call Number: Lewis Library Main Stacks F1226 .B737 2014
Publication Date: 2014
¿Has Visto a María? by A fable about loss, grief, and healing follows the transformative efforts of fifty-three-year-old Sandra to find her friend's missing cat in the aftermath of her own mother's death.
Call Number: Lewis Library Main Stacks PS3553.I78 H3818 2012
Publication Date: 2012-10-02
El Porfiriato by En el texto de Elisa Speckman Guerra encontramos las claves para un análisis serio de una etapa que comúnmente se ha estudiado como una dictadura de mano de hierro en un país que urgentemente clamaba paz, progreso y cohesión social. Pero el periodo que va de 1877 y termina con la primera revolución del siglo XX en el mundo es mucho más que eso. A través de estas páginas nos adentramos de una forma sencilla y didáctica en los tiempos de los viejos ferrocarriles, la apertura internacional, los ajustes y desajustes de la frágil economía mexicana, la cultura, la vida cotidiana y los arreglos sociales de la época... pero también en las pugnas, los reclamos obreros y campesinos, las huelgas y los maltratos a una parte de la población y todo aquello que durante más de 30 años de historia sucedía en México bajo la presidencia de Porfirio Díaz.
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PN6790.M63 Z4566 2015
Publication Date: 2013
Long stories cut short : fictions from the borderlands by "Frederick Luis Aldama and graphic artists from Mapache Studios give shape to ugly truths in the most honest way, creating new perceptions, thoughts, and feelings about life in the borderlands of the Americas. Each bilingual prose-art fictional snapshot in this collection offers an unsentimentally complex glimpse into the lives of those pushed into shadowed corners of society today"--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2017
I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter by When the sister who delighted their parents by her faithful embrace of Mexican culture dies in a tragic accident, Julia, who longs to go to college and move into a home of her own, discovers from mutual friends that her sister may not have been as perfect as believed.
Call Number: Online Access & Lewis Library Course Reserves PZ7.1.S257 Iaam 2017
Publication Date: 2017-10-17
Your Brain on Latino Comics by Though the field of comic book studies has burgeoned in recent years, Latino characters and creators have received little attention. Putting the spotlight on this vibrant segment, Your Brain on Latino Comics illuminates the world of superheroes Firebird, Vibe, and the new Blue Beetle while also examining the effects on readers who are challenged to envision such worlds.
Call Number: Online Access & Cudahy Library Main Stacks PN6725 .A38 2009
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
Chicana/o and Latina/o fiction : the new memory of Latinidad by "Chicana/o and Latina/o Fiction presents an extremely comprehensive analysis of the various modes of narrative that encompass Chicana/o and Latina/o experience in the United States. Significantly, Irizarry challenges the primacy of Latino versus Anglo comparison so prevalent in the field of Latino studies, opting for a lens that focuses inward, to the unique and important differences among heterogeneous cultural, ethnic, and social groups."--Small Axe
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2016
Comics & memory in Latin America by "Latin American comics and graphic novels have a unique history of addressing controversial political, cultural, and social issues. This volume presents new perspectives on how comics on and from Latin America both view and express memory formation on major historical events and processes. "
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2017
Changing Women, Changing Nation by Changing Women, Changing Nation explores the literary representations of women in Salvadoran and US-Salvadoran narratives during the span of the last thirty years.
Call Number: Online Access & Cudahy Library Main Stacks PQ7534 .P33 2012
Publication Date: 2012-07-01