Digital Communications: Print & Online Books

Finding Books and AV Materials

To find books and AV materials at Albright, check our cataLION (Online Public Access Catalog).

If you cannot locate what you need in the OPAC, try some of the other catalogs listed to find materials in other libraries, which can be interlibrary loaned.

cataLION search tips:

• The cataLION online catalog searches like Google. It tries to match as many of your terms as possible with the best matches appearing o the first pages.
• The database will do automatic truncation, both left and right, so truncation symbols are not needed.  E.g., typing in rain will find both rainfall and brain.
• The database is searchable by title, author, subject or keyword options.  When searching by keyword mode only input the keywords and ignore the prepositions, articles, etc to make the search more efficient.
• To do a more comprehensive search, use the cataLION advanced search option. 

To find a book or AV material, enter your search here:

• To perform a more comprehensive search, use the cataLION advanced search option.
• Log in to be able to see what you checked out, place holds and create saved lists.

Finding Reference Resources

Reference sources provide solid background information on a topic or provide quick and easy access to sources with factual information. You will want to consult them when you either need good background on a topic (e.g., an encyclopedia article) or to find a quick fact or definition (e.g., dictionary or almanac).

• The Associated Press Stylebook 2014 [Ref 808.066 A849 2014]
• Encyclopedia of New Media : An essential reference to communication and technology [Ref 302.23 E56J 2003]
• Media in the Digital Age [302.231 P338m 2008]

The library maintains a large collection of electronic books. These can be viewed both on and off-campus. (NB: For off-campus access log in using your LIONlink username and password.)

Some relevant ones to digital communications include:

• Digital media law
• Social impacts of digital media
• Z.E.R.O. : zero paid media as the new marketing model

Credo Reference is a collection of fulltext reference materials. It is an excellent place to start to get background information on a topic.