LION: Digital Communications: Journal Articles

Building a Research Strategy

In order to find the best resources, follow these basic steps to develop a concise research strategy.

Create research question -- Has the ethics of whistleblowing changed since the Enron scandal (2001)
Select the concepts -- ethics, whistleblowing, Enron
Pick the keywords for the concepts -- ethics, ethical, moral, morals, whistleblowers, whistleblowing, Enron
Use Boolean operators to combine them (after adjusting for truncation)
line 1 - ethic* or moral or morals (don't want the keyword morale)
line 2 - whistleblow*
line 3 - Enron (or consider searching for items written after 2001)

Magazines & Journals

Major databases for Digital Communications.

ProQuest Newsstand	Academic Search Complete	Lexis/Nexis
Popular magazines	Popular magazines	Some popular magazines
Magazines, wire feeds	Peer-reviewed/Scholarly magazines	Newspapers
Trade publications		Legal & medical information
Newspapers

In addition to the main interdisciplinary databases above, consider the following:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a shared digital library that includes the fulltext of more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume published. Coverage varies depending on the journal title.
Due to "moving wall" agreements with the publishers, JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 1-5 years after the publishing date.
Sage Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Fulltext access from 1999 to a subset of the over 450 journals in 40 disciplines. Coverage 1999-present depending on source.
Select "SAGE Journals Available to Me" for fulltext articles available at Albright or search "All SAGE Content" for additional items that can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan (Tipasa).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information
online. Coverage varies by title. Most fulltext begins 1995. AS OF JANUARY 1, 2016, SCIENCEDIRECT WILL NO LONGER SUPPORT INTERNET EXPLORER 8. USERS ARE URGED TO CONSIDER USING THE LATEST VERSIONS OF CHROME OR FIREFOX.
Supports physical sciences and engineering; the life sciences; the health sciences; and the social sciences and humanities
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
World's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. Coverage: Full text coverage spans from 1904 to present for 777 of the journals, indexing from 1895 to present for other sources
Coverage includes abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.