Bekken, Jon: Home

Book Reviews

• Bekken, Jon. Review of  Low Poer to the People: Pirates,Protest, and Politics in FM Radio Activism, by Christina Dunbar-Hester. Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly,  vol. 92,  no.4 , Dec. 2015, pp. 1045-1046.
• Bekken,Jon. Review of The Media and Public Life: a history, by John Nerone. Choice, vol. 53, no. 4, Dec. 2015.
• Bekken,Jon. Review of People's Movements,People's Press: The Journalism of Social Justice Movements by Bob Ostertag. Journalism, vol. 10, no. 4, 2009, pp. 529-532. 
• Bekken,Jon. Review of The Scripps Newspapers Go to War , 1914-18 by Dale E. Zacher, 1914-1918. Jhistory, H-Net Reviews, Aug. 2011. 
• Bekken,Jon. Review of Becoming the Second City: Chicago's Mass News Media, 1833-1898, by Richard Junger. Jhistory, H-net Reviews, Aug. 2011. 
• Bekken,Jon. Review of The Black Newspaper and the Chosen Nation, by Benjamin P. Fagan. Choice, vol. 54, no. 5, 2017, pp. 2091. 
• Bekken,Jon. Review of Radical Chapters: Pacifist Bookseller Roy Kepler and the Paperback Revolution, by Michael Doyle. Journalism History, vol. 39, no. 3, 2013. 
• Bekken, Jon. Review of A Moment of Danger: Critical Studies in the History of U.S. Communication since World War II , edited by Janice Peck and Inger L. Stole. Journalism History, vol. 37, no. 4, 2012.
• Bekken,Jon . Review of  Shadow of the racketeer: Scandal in organized labor, by David Witwer. Journalism History, vol. 35, no. 4, 2010. 
• Bekken,Jon. Review of Wobblies on the Waterfront. Interracial Unionism in Progressive-Era Philadelphia, by Peter Cole. International Review of Social History, vol. 54, no. 2, 2009. 
• Bekken,Jon. Review of Eyes on labor: News photography and america's working class, by Carole Quirke.  Journalism History, vol. 39, no. 4, 2014, pp. 263. 
• Bekken,Jon. Review of Framed!: Labor and the corporate media, by Christopher Martin. Mass Communication& Society, vol.7, no.3, 2004, pp. 381-385
• Bekken,Jon. Review of Black,White, and Red All Over: A Cultural History of the Radical Press in Its Heyday, 1900-1917, by Linda J. Lumsden. American Journalism, vol. 32, no. 1, 2015, pp. 88-90.

Books

• Bekken, Jon and Fred W. Thompson. The Industrial Workers of the World: It's First One Hundred Years: 1905 Through 2005; the history of an effort to organize the working class. Industrial Workers of the World , 2006.
  • Available in the Gingrich Library : https://catalion.albright.edu/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=117242

Edited Works

• Lee,Frederic S , et al, editors. Radical Economics and Labor: Essays Inspired by the IWW Centennial.  Routledge, 2009. 
  • Available in the Gingrich Library:  https://catalion.albright.edu/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=200461

Encyclopedia Entries

• Bekken,Jon . " Anarchism and Labor". Oxford Encyclopedia of American Business,Labor and Economic History. NY: Oxford University Press,2013 . 
• Bekken,Jon. " Advocacy Journalism". Encyclopedia of Journalism. Ca : Sage Reference, 2009. 
• Bekken,Jon. " Industrial Workers of the World Marine Transport Workers". International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest: 1500 to the present. MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2009. 
• Bekken,Jon. " Tom Mann". International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest: 1500 to the present. MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2009.
• Bekken,Jon. " The Masses". International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest; 1500 to the present. MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2009. 
• Bekken,Jon. " Chicago Sun-Times". Encyclopedia of Chicago. ILL: Univ of Chicago Press, 2004. 
• Bekken,Jon. " Neighborhood Press". Encyclopedia of Chicago. ILL: Univ of Chicago Press, 2004.
• Bekken,Jon. " Politics and the Press". Encyclopedia of Chicago. ILL: Univ of Chicago Press, 2004. 
• Bekken,Jon. " Industrial Workers of the World". Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor 1, A-O. Conn: Greenwood, 2004.
• Bekken,Jon. " Retail Workers' Strikes". The Encyclopedia of Strikes in American history. N.Y.: Sharpe, 2009.

Book Chapters

• Bekken,Jon " Karl Marx: Transcending Alienation",  Ethical Communication: Five Moral Stances in Human Dialogue, edited by C.G. Christians and J.C. Merrill, Univ. of Missouri Press, 2009.
• Bekken,Jon. " No rights for the working man: laboring before the First Amendment had force". An Indispensable liberty: the fight for free speech in nineteenth-centry America, edited by Mary M. Cronin, Southern Illinois University Press, 2016.
  • Available in the Gingrich Library : https://catalion.albright.edu/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=508485 

• Bekken,Jon. " Foreward", Dynamite: the story of class violence in American, by Louis Adamic, AK Press, 2008.

Journal Articles

• Bekken,Jon. " Radical chapters: Pacifist bookseller roy kepler and the paperback revolution" Journalism History, vol. 39 ,  no. 3 Aug. 2014  , pp. 193-200