Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Your Voice: FYS: Finding Articles

Using Databases to find Articles

The Library subscribes to over 90 databases for you to access. Databases mainly contain Journal Articles and also articles from newspapers and magazines depending on the database. Many of the articles are in Scholarly Journals. Editors have looked at the information to be certain the facts are correct, the articles are well written and properly cited.

 

Types of Periodicals

 

 
Newspapers
Magazines
Journals
Author
Staff writers;not always identified
Journalist or layperson
Experts in area of study; researchers and scholars
Audience
General
General
Professors, researchers, practitioners and students
Content
Current events   
Interviews, general information, advertisement
In-depth research on specialized or technical topics; usually includes an abstract; academic book reviews
Purpose
Current, topical and local information
Entertain, provide general and popular information
Provide information about original research or experiements; report new findings in field of research
Frequency
Daily
Weekly
Months or years of preparation before publishing
Examples
New York Times, Washington Post   
Time, Newsweek, Business Week
Journal of Clinical Child Psychology, Urban Studies, Science
Is it scholarly/academic?
NO
NO
YES!


When you search a database and find a citation to an article in a Particular Journal, it is important to search the Journal Locator to see whether the Library subscribes to it, and whether the article you need is available full-text. However, some databases have direct links to full-text articles.

 

Relevant Research Databases


  Academic Search Complete --- A multidisciplinary database of more than 8,500 fulltext periodicals with pdf content going back as far as 1887.

► SOCindex with Fulltext  -- World's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. 

CREDO Reference --- Collection of fulltext online reference materials. Content includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, and subject-specific titles from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare, and law to literature

 JSTOR --- JSTOR is a shared digital library that includes the fulltext of more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume published. Coverage varies depending on the journal title.

If you are not finding what you need, you can also try one of other research databases by going to the  Complete List of Library Databases.