It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CHE - Finding Chemical Information (Fall 2014): Home
Using the online chemical and biochemical databases to find information.
Most databases act the same way and this guide helps explain the basics. Note that SciFinder is the exception in that it does not use Boolean logic and has special ways of handling truncation and phrase searching.
Offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information
online. Coverage varies by title. Most fulltext begins 1995. AS OF JANUARY 1, 2016, SCIENCEDIRECT WILL NO LONGER SUPPORT INTERNET EXPLORER 8. USERS ARE URGED TO CONSIDER USING THE LATEST VERSIONS OF CHROME OR FIREFOX.
Supports physical sciences and engineering; the life sciences; the health sciences; and the social sciences and humanities
Biological Abstracts is a complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published in more than 4,000 journals internationally. Coverage 1995-present
Index of medical literature produced by the National Library of Medicine. Free, unlimited access.
For a quick comparison of the four databases, see this chart.
REMOTE USERS NOTE: Students, faculty and staff working off-campus will be asked to enter their LionLink username and password to access the library's databases. Anyone with problems accessing library resources should call 610-921-7211 or email email@example.com for assistance.