Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Theatre Reviews, Interviews and Articles
- Academic Search Premier - Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present. Although a basic keyword search with the name of the play or director should turn up some results, you can also refine your search by clicking More Search Options and selecting "Entertainment Review" under Document Type.
- Humanities Abstracts - Covers all areas of the Humanities, including theater and theater reviews. You can also limit to theater reviews, performance reviews, drama, or biography. Covers 1984 to the present, with some material since the 1990s in full text.
- Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature - Provides comprehensive indexing of the popular general-interest periodicals; covers 1983 to the present. You can also limit to theater reviews, performance reviews, drama, or biography.
Newspaper articles may also be helpful
- Lexis-Nexis Reviews - Access to full-text, national and international news, including theater reviews. Coverage spans from the mid-1980s to the present.
Useful Web Resources for Drama/Theatre
- *** Variety: the International Entertainment Weekly - http://www.variety.com/
“The longest running publication on the business of entertainment in the United States.” While its primary focus is on film and television, it includes information on the business side of theater production and reviews of current theater productions across America.
- *** TheaterMania - http://www.theatermania.com/
It started in 1999 and some of its features are comprehensive listings, news, reviews, and interviews.
- *** Playbill On-Line – http://www.playbill.com
Dating back to 1884 this periodical mostly covers New York with news, feature articles and short reviews,
- *** New York Magazine - http://nymag.com/arts/theater/
Look under the Entertainment section to find theater reviews
- Aisle Say - http://www.aislesay.com/
This website is updated bi-weekly and has theater reviews from 17 different cities if you scroll down the page.
- Curtain Up - http://www.curtainup.com/
This is a free online theater magazine that began in 1996 with reviews, features, and news. The coverage is more international than Aisle Say