Gingrich Library: FYS 100 -- How To See (Fall 2021): Searching for Sources

Books

To find books and AV materials at Albright, check our CataLION (Online Public Access Catalog).

cataLION search tips:

The cataLION online catalog searches like Google. It tries to match as many of your terms as possible with the best matches appearing on the first pages.
The database will do automatic truncation, both left and right, so truncation symbols are not needed. E.g., typing in rain will find both rainfall and brain.
The database is searchable by title, author, subject or keyword options. When searching by keyword mode only input the keywords and ignore the prepositions, articles, etc to make the search more efficient.
To do a more comprehensive search, use the CataLION advanced search

A Word about the Gingrich Library

As you all probably know, the Library is undergoing a renovation. In preparation for that project, the old building has to be emptied. Library staff, the reference collection, and a small circulating collection (the Micro Library) have been moved to the Center for Computing and Mathematics, the CCM. If you need a book that is in the old building, you can place a hold on it, and library staff will retrieve it for you.

Placing a Hold

If you want to place a hold for an item that is on a list, click the Place a Hold link that appears under the item. If you have clicked on an individual item, the Place a Hold link is on the right hand side of the screen.

To complete the process, click Confirm Hold.

Relevant Databases

The library subscribes to more than 90 databases.For the entire list, click here. Some of the most relevant for this course are below:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of more than 8,500 fulltext periodicals with pdf content going back as far as 1887. Includes indexing and abstracting for more than 12,500 periodicals.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Collection of fulltext online reference materials. Content includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, and subject-specific titles from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare, and law to literature. Coverage varies by title.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
ONCE LOGGED INTO GALE, IF ASKED FOR A PASSWORD AT THE SIGN IN BOX, TYPE albright.--
GVRL is a collection of electronic reference materials in a variety of subjects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a shared digital library that includes the fulltext of more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume published. Coverage varies depending on the journal title.
Due to "moving wall" agreements with the publishers, JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 1-5 years after the publishing date.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
This rich full-text database provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. It gives students, professors and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Click the Google Scholar “hamburger menu” icon in the top left of the screen.

Click Settings, then Library Links.

In the search box, enter Albright College.

Check the box for Albright College and click Save. When you do a Google Scholar search, the search results will include links to items subscribed to by the library.