The Library subscribes to over 90 databases for you to access. Databases mainly contain Journal Articles and also articles from newspapers and magazines depending on the database. Many of the articles are in Scholarly Journals. Editors have looked at the information to be certain the facts are correct, the articles are well written and properly cited.
Types of Periodicals
Staff writers;not always identified
Journalist or layperson
Experts in area of study; researchers and scholars
Professors, researchers, practitioners and students
Interviews, general information, advertisement
In-depth research on specialized or technical topics; usually includes an abstract; academic book reviews
Current, topical and local information
Entertain, provide general and popular information
Provide information about original research or experiements; report new findings in field of research
Months or years of preparation before publishing
New York Times, Washington Post
Time, Newsweek, Business Week
Journal of Clinical Child Psychology, Urban Studies, Science
Is it scholarly/academic?
When you search a database and find a citation to an article in a Particular Journal, it is important to search the Journal Locator to see whether the Library subscribes to it, and whether the article you need is available full-text. However, some databases have direct links to full-text articles.
Relevant Research Databases
► ATLA Religion --- Produced by the American Theological Library Association, this database is the definitive index for religious and theological literature. It is an essential resource for researchers and students in theology as well as in social sciences, history, and humanities. Coverage 1949-present
► SOCINDEX --- This database is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. Full-text coverage begins in 1904.
► ClasePeriodica --- Great database to find scholarly information on Latin American social sciences, humanities, and sciences.
Coverage 1992-present (Clase) & 1978-present (Periodica)
► Project MUSE --- Provides full-text access to more than 400 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Coverage varies by publication; the earliest date of inclusion is 1990.
► Academic Search Complete --- A multidisciplinary database of more than 8,500 fulltext periodicals with pdf content going back as far as 1887.
► CREDO Reference --- Collection of fulltext online reference materials. Content includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, and subject-specific titles from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare, and law to literature
► JSTOR --- JSTOR is a shared digital library that includes the fulltext of more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume published. Coverage varies depending on the journal title.
► WorldCat --- NOTE, If you are looking for additional books, use this database.
If you are not finding what you need, you can also try one of other research databases by going to the Complete List of Library Databases.