Gingrich Library: Your Success Is Why We're Here!
Whether you are trying to select a topic or already have in mind one that would interest you, doing some background reading on your topic can place it in context, giving you a more concrete way to focus your searching. It can often summarize history and the issues and help identify important research, making it easier to search scholarly journals.
Electronic resources listed here might be a good places to start.
Collection of fulltext online reference materials. Content includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, and subject-specific titles from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare, and law to literature. Coverage varies by title.
ONCE LOGGED INTO GALE, IF ASKED FOR A PASSWORD AT THE SIGN IN BOX, TYPE albright.--
GVRL is a collection of electronic reference materials in a variety of subjects.
Off-campus users will be asked to enter their LionLink username and password to access the library’s databases. Call 610-921-7211 or email libraryref@albright.edu for assistance.
A multidisciplinary database of more than 8,500 fulltext periodicals with pdf content going back as far as 1887. Includes indexing and abstracting for more than 12,500 periodicals.
A renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Coverage: citations to journals, 1887-present; book citations 1997-present
Index of medical literature produced by the National Library of Medicine. Free, unlimited access.
Offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information
online. Coverage varies by title. Most fulltext begins 1995.
World's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. Coverage: Full text coverage spans from 1904 to present for 777 of the journals, indexing from 1895 to present for other sources
You can search for books and ebooks using LION One Search or the cataLION.
In addition to searching the phrase public health, try
Or try searching for a specific disease, e.g. ebola
You can also search our ebook collections separately:
A collection of electronic books in all subject areas. Coverage dates vary.
Ebook Central provides online access to scholarly e-books in all subject areas. You can read books online or download them. Coverage varies.
Getting Books from the Collection
Library Services is currently housed in the Center for Computing and Mathematics (CCM). While the reference collection and a small circulating collection are located there, the majority of the circulating collection is located in a warehouse off-campus. If you need a book that is in the warehouse, you can place a hold on it, and library staff will retrieve it for you.
Placing a Hold
If you want to place a hold for an item that is on a list, click the Place a Hold link that appears under the item. If you have clicked on an individual item, the Place a Hold link is on the right hand side of the screen.
Log in with your LionLINK credentials.
To complete the process, click Confirm Hold.