Education

Kids Count Data Center
A national and state-by-state project of the Casey Foundation to track the status of children in the United States.  Easy-to-use online database provides state-level data from the Kids Count Data Book and will generate custom graphs, maps, ranked lists, and state-by-stat

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The primary Federal agency responsible for the collection, analysis and reporting of data related to education in the U.S.

National Education Association
The largest U.S. professional organization and labor union representing educators.  Provides links to many valuable education resources.

National Institute for Early Education Research
Conducts and communicates research to support high quality, effective, early childhood education for all young children.  Provides news, data, research reports, policy briefs, etc.

Pennsylvania Department of Education
The executive department of the state charged with K-12 and adult educational budgeting, management, and guidelines.  Provides links to many resources, such as academic standards, teacher certification, state school/ education statistics, etc.

Pennsylvania Standards Aligned System
From the Pennsylvania Department of Education, standards-based resources to support student achievement, such as academic standards, interventions, curriculum framework, aligned instruction activities, as well as materials and resources.

Statistical Abstracts of the United States
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

U.S. Census Bureau
Statistical resources from the U.S. Census Bureau including population, economic, industry, geography, and more.

U.S. Department of Education
Cabinet-level department of the U.S. government charged with creating programs to generate funds for education and enforcement of privacy and civil rights laws.  Many education resources:  research, statistics, teacher resources, etc.

What Works Clearninghouse
As an initiative of the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences (IES), the What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) was created in 2002 to be a central and trusted source of scientific evidence for what works in education.

• ALA/ALSC Children's Literature Awards

  The ALSC awards are announced every January at the American Library Association Midwinter Meeting.

• Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University

  Brief abstracts and keywords are included for each title. Over 5,000 picture books are included, appropriate for use in designing curricular units for K-12 students.

• Databases of Award Winning Children's Literature

  DAWCL has over 7,000 records from 84 awards across six English-speaking countries (United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, England, and Ireland).

• ICDL - International Children's Digital Library

  The mission of the International Children's Digital Library Foundation (ICDL Foundation) is to support the world's children in becoming effective members of the global community...by making the best in children's literature available online free of charge.

• Lexile Framework for Reading Due to funding cuts of the State Library's budget, NoveList and NoveList K-8 Plus database are no longer available to academic libraries. However, the Lexile Framework for Reading website does provide lexile scores as well as reading lists. Open access.