Gingrich Library: FYS 100: The American Public School System Fall 2025: Finding Articles

Gingrich Library's Databases

A-Z Databases
See all of our databases here.

Google Tips

Google's advanced search allows you to search by domain name (on bottom line of the advanced search form).

Entering .edu, .gov or .org into this line will only return results from educational, organizational or US government sites. You will still have to evaluate the sites for authority, accuracy, currency, and objectivity.

Google Scholar eliminates the commercial parts of Google and points to more scholarly information.

Use critical thinking skills and evaluate the websites you find.

Finding Journals and Magazines

Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database of more than 8,500 fulltext periodicals with pdf content going back as far as 1887. Includes indexing and abstracting for more than 12,500 periodicals.
ERIC/EDRS

An online digital library of education research and information, sponsored in part by the U.S. Department of Education. Coverage dates 1966-present

Contains references to non-journal material issued in the monthly Resources in Education (RIE) and to journal articles issued in the monthly Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
Google Scholar

An academic version of Google providing a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Coverage dates vary.

Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations are available. Google Scholar helps identify the most relevant research across the scholarly world. Google Scholar can be used to search several Albright subsciption databases, e.g., JSTOR, Project Muse, ScienceDirect, etc.

Lion Search

Lion Search
One stop for searching. Find articles, reports, books, and more.

Tips for Better Searching

By default, Articles and more searches all terms you have entered, without the need to use AND. For example: academic achievement athletes will find items that contain all 3 terms.
By default, Find articles searches through the full text of documents (if available). This may cause a large number of results, and not all are relevant to your subject. Results are returned in a relevancy ranked order.
To improve the relevancy of your search results, enclose phrases in “quotation marks”. For example: “academic achievement” or “standardized tests”
Include the apostrophe. For example, use ”teacher’s pet” rather than “teachers pet”
To find variant endings for a word, use the * asterisk (truncation symbol.) For example: the stem educ* finds educate, education, educational. Be careful not to use a very short stem!
To find scholarly journal articles, refine your search by selecting the Peer Reviewed button.
The Advanced Search lets you refine a search by limiting to language. However, be aware that many English language articles have not been tagged as English, so will be missing from your search results.
Many items have direct links to retrieve the full text. For those that don’t, use the Access options button to determine if Gingrich Library has the item in print or online.