Gingrich Library: FYS 100 -- American Schools: A Culture of Violence -- Fall 2018: Specific Databases

Search Techniques

Boolean operators (AND, OR, AND NOT) These words are used to combine your search terms. Click here to see a tutorial in the Gingrich Guide.

Truncation--Use the asterisk * to retrieve all variants of a word. For example, environ* will retrieve environment, environmentalist, environmental. But be careful! Con* will retrieve convict, contract, constitution and all other words that start that way. You will get many irrelevant items.

Phrase searching--If your search term is a phrase, e.g., critical thinking, enclose the phrase in quotation marks. "Critical thinking" is a more specific search than typing the words separately.

Journal Locator

The Journal Locator has two main uses. If you want to know if the library has a particular journal or magazine title, clicke the journals tab and enter the title.

A more common use is if you have located an article and see the phrase, Find Full text, clicking on the phrase will show show you links to get the article if it is online or inform you if the article can be found in the library's print collection for photocopying.

Finding Magazines, Journals & Newspapers

PLEASE NOTE: If you feel you are not getting the materials you need using the databases listed below, please ask for help at the Reference Desk or check out our Complete List of Library Databases .

Remember: All of the library's resources are available both on and off-campus. Off-campus users wil be asked to log in with their LionLINK username and password.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of more than 8,500 fulltext periodicals with pdf content going back as far as 1887. Includes indexing and abstracting for more than 12,500 periodicals.
ERIC/EDRS This link opens in a new window
An online digital library of education research and information, sponsored in part by the U.S. Department of Education. Coverage dates 1966-present
Contains references to non-journal material issued in the monthly Resources in Education (RIE) and to journal articles issued in the monthly Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
World's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. Coverage: Full text coverage spans from 1904 to present for 777 of the journals, indexing from 1895 to present for other sources
Coverage includes abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Books

To find books and AV materials at Albright, check our CataLION (Online Public Access Catalog).

cataLION search tips:

The cataLION online catalog searches like Google. It tries to match as many of your terms as possible with the best matches appearing on the first pages.
The database will do automatic truncation, both left and right, so truncation symbols are not needed. E.g., typing in rain will find both rainfall and brain.
The database is searchable by title, author, subject or keyword options. When searching by keyword mode only input the keywords and ignore the prepositions, articles, etc to make the search more efficient.
To do a more comprehensive search, use the CataLION advanced search