Skip to main content

FYS 100 -- Discovering Our Ethnic Past: Ethnic Resources

America: Many Ethnicities

Multicultural America -- a good overview of the history of ethnic groups in the United States

A Comprehensive List Genealogical Research Sites by Cyndi Howell which she began in 1996

AFRICAN AMERICAN

African American Family History: steps to take

AfriGeneas: African Ancestored Genealogy

African American Cemeteries Online

Cyndi's List of African-American Family History Sites

10 Databases for Slave Genealogy Research

Cyndi's List -- Slavery

Newspapers

CARRIBBEAN / WEST INDIES --  DOMINICIAN REPUBLIC

Baptisms, 1726-1924

Civil Births, 1801-2006

Civil Registration, 1801-2010

Deaths, 1666-1862

Marriages, 1743-1929

Catholic Church Records, 1590-1955

WorldGenWeb Project -- Dominician Republic

CENTRAL & SOUTH AMERICA
Genealogy in Latin America (LANIC)

Researching Hispanic Ancestry

Cyndi's List -- Central and South America

Ecuador, Catholic Church Records, 1565-2011

Ecuador, Deaths, 1800-1920

Ecuador, Marriages, 1680-1930

El Salvador Genealogy

El Salvador Catholic Church Records, 1655-1977

El Salvador, Civil Registration, 1704-2001

El Salvador, Marriages, 1810-1930

Honduras Genealogy

Honduras Online Genealogy Records

Honduras,Civil Registration, 1841-1968

IRELAND

Irish Genealogy Databases for Researching your Ancestors

The National Archives of Ireland

Cyndi's List -- Ireland & Northern Ireland

Civil Registration, 1845-1913

Births and Baptisms, 1620-1881

Deaths, 1864-1870

Marriages, 1619-1898

Irish Ancestral Research Association

ITALY

Anglo-Italian Family History Society

Cyndi's List -- Italy

Italy -- Birth, Marriage and Death Records

A Billion Graves in Italy

Italians to America, Ships Passenger Lists

Italian Surname Database

JAPAN

Cyndi's List -- Japan

Japan Genealogies, 850-2012

Japan Passenger Lists, 1893-1941

Japan Village Records, 709-1982

Japanese American Military Experience database

Internment During World War II

National Japanese American Historical Society

JEWISH

JewishGen -- Not only for Jewish genealogy, but also East European genealogy

Jewish Genealogy Databases Online

10 Online Resources for Holocaust Research

Researching Victims and Survivors of the Holocaust

POLAND

Polish Genealogy Databases Online

Polish Origins -- Polish Genealogy Research databases

Research Databases from the Polish Genealogical Society of America

Indexed Parishes // Indeksowane parafie

The All Poland Database

PUERTO RICO
Cyndi's List -- Puerto Rico

Catholic Church Records, 1645-1969

Civil Registration, 1805-2001

Florida and Puerto Rico Newspaper Project (University of Florida)

Researching Hispanic Ancestry

 

````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````

CANADIAN

Databases for Researching Canadian Ancestors

FRANCE

Researching your French Ancestry

French Databases for Genealogical Records

FRENCH CANADIAN

Researching French-Canadian Ancestors

Online Databases for French-Canadian Ancestry

GERMANY

Germans from Russia Heritage Collection

Researching German Ancestors

GREAT BRITAIN

Ancestors in Great Britain

Researching Ancestors in the British Census (England and Wales)

NATIVE AMERICANS

How to Research Native American Roots

Census Rolls from the Bureau of Indian Affairs (1885-1940), and
The National Archives has FREE online digitized copies for you to access