Gingrich Library: Tax Issues: Library Databases

Quick Tips

In order to find the best resources, follow these basic steps to develop a concise research strategy.

Create research question -- Has the ethics of whistleblowing changed since the Enron scandal (2001)
Select the concepts -- ethics, whistleblowing, Enron
Pick the keywords for the concepts -- ethics, ethical, moral, morals, whistleblowers, whistleblowing, Enron
Use Boolean operators to combine them (after adjusting for truncation)
line 1 - ethic* or moral or morals (don't want the keyword morale)
line 2 - whistleblow*
line 3 - Enron (or consider searching for items written after 2001)

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly business database providing both bibliographic and fulltext items with indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1886.
Mergent Online - Premium This link opens in a new window
Database of corporate information covering over 22,000 US and foreign public companies. Coverage is 15 years of financial information and 10 years of annual reports.
Information available for each company includes the following: a complete corporate history including acquisitions and changes in ownership structure; lists of subsidiaries, property holdings, and key personnel; up to 15 years of annual and quarterly financial data, including balance sheets, income statements, cash flow statements, and financial ratios; up to 10 years of scanned, full-image annual reports, along with full coverage of SEC filings; extensive information about the corporation's current long term debt; and links to recent news reports
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—create a free account to use personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Room 113, Center for Computing and Mathematics

610.921.7852

Subjects: Copyright, School of Professional Studies, World Languages and Literatures