It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MUS 284--Popular Music and Digital Culture (Summer 2020): Finding Articles
Articles are crucial for SCHOLARLY communication and have a narrow scope as the information is focused on a topic.
SCHOLARLY articles tend to begin with an abstract which is an overview of the article. Titles can be misleading, so it is best to read the abstract to learn what the article is about.
They are typically lengthy and have a thorough bibliography.
As an undergraduate conducting your own research, the majority of your research will be using ‘peer reviewed’ materials. This kind of material is read and reviewed by experts in the field, who determine if it is good enough to publish. If an article passes the ‘peer review’ test then it will be added to the overall body of knowledge.
Why is this kind of article so important and used by so many of your professors? It is important not only because it is so well scrutinized by experts, but because it often is a way of creating new thoughts, ideas and knowledge.
Articles at Albright
Use these databases listed below to find articles by conducting a keyword search or using subject headings. Look for the pdf link for online access. If no pdf link is available, click the Find Full Text link to see if the library subscribes to the item or use the Interlibrary Loan Link to order a copy of the article from the Interlibrary Loan service. Click here for a Complete List of Library Databases.
Not finding what you need? Ask a librarian for help at email@example.com or use the live chat on the library's homepage.
This rich full-text database provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. It gives students, professors and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.
Premier database for literature and language studies. Indexes books, journals, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, bibliographies, and websites in world langauges, literature, folklore and customs. Coverage 1926-present
Includes MLA Directory of Periodicals, the MLA International Bibliography Database, and the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
World's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. Coverage: Full text coverage spans from 1904 to present for 777 of the journals, indexing from 1895 to present for other sources
Coverage includes abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.