Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Your Voice (FYS 100): Articles

Journal Locator

Use the Journal Locator when you know the title of a newspaper, magazine, or journal. There is a link to the Journal Locator on the Library's homepage. Click on the tab, "Journals" and go to "Journal Locator"

Perhaps you find this article in the Journal of Voice  in a database:

Lynn Helding MM , Thomas L. Carroll MD , John Nix MM, MME , Michael M. Johns MD , Wendy D. LeBorgne PhD, CCC-SLP , David Meyer MM, DM , COVID-19 After Effects: Concerns for Singers, Journal of Voice (2020), doi: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jvoice.2020.07.032

 

Identify Main Concepts

Break your topic into concepts (subjects). These concepts will form the building blocks of your search strategy.

 

Why?

  • Databases don't like sentences! 
  • Long phrases or sentences will confuse the database and lead to disappointing or NO results. 
  • Pick out the words that indicate the main points of your topic. 

 

Example Question:

 

 


 

 Tips:

  • Good research topics usually contain 2-4 concepts. 
  • Topics with one concept will usually retrieve way too many results.
  • Topics with too many concepts may limit your results too much.

 

Brainstorm for Keywords

The search terms (keywords) you use are extremely important!

  • Keywords are the search terms that you enter into the database to describe each of your concepts.
  • When you search the database, you are usually searching the words in the Title and Abstract, not the full-text article.
  • The Title and Abstract are written by the author of the article. 
  • The database will word-match your keywords against the author's words in the title & abstract and deliver only results that match what you enter.

 

Problem:

Databases look for the exact words and phrases you type in, so if the author uses a different word (synonym) to describe a concept, you will not see that article in your results.

 

Solution:

For each of your concepts, identify alternative keywords. 

  • Ask yourself, "What other words could the author use to describe this concept?
  • Be careful with phrases. If you search with a phrase, think of alternative ways to describe the phrase and search with that as well. Example: hand washing or handwashing or hand hygeine.
  • Not familiar with a topic? Having trouble thinking of synonyms?  Browse these resources (dictionaries, textbooks, encylopedias) for background information.

 

Create a master list of alternative words for each of your concepts. 

Use this list as you search the databases.  In addition to synonyms, be creative and think of: 

  • Related Words
  • Spelling Variations (especially American vs British, for example anesthesia or aneasthesia)
  • Acronymns (also spell out the phrase)
  • Brand and generic drug names
  • Plural and Singular variations
  • Narrower Terms
  • Broader Terms

 

 

Here is the beginning of a list for our research question--

 

Does soft drink consumption increase the risk of obesity in children?

Concept 1  Concept 2 Concept 3
Child Soda Obesity
Children Soft Drink Overweight
Adolescent    Pop Body Weight
Juvenile Sugar-Sweetened Beverages Body Mass Index
  Beverages BMI

 

 

 

Cola  

Databases

The Library has 91 databases. Choose the best ones to find articles for your paper.

Academic Search Complete - a multidisciplinary database of more than 8,500 full text periodicals with pdf content going back as far as 1887.

Science Direct - the database has references to many scientific and medical articles.

Sage Online Journals -- references to articles for 40 disciplines