Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion and Animals: Abrahamic Traditions

Judaism, Christianity, Islam

Where to Begin for Background Research

Books

A Few Subject Terms to Search for Books

Animals -- Religious Aspects

Human Animal Relationships

Animals -- Religious Aspects -- Christianity

Animals -- Religious Aspects -- Judaism

 

A Few Titles of Books

Animals and World Religions

A Communion of Subjects: Animals in Religion, Science, and Ethics

Beastly Natures: Animals, Humans, and the Study of History

Mythical Zoo: Animals in Myth, Legend, and Literature

Early Christians and Animals

Animal Sacrifice in Ancient Greek Religion, Judaism, and Christianity, 100 BC to A D 200

The Friends We Keep: Unleashing Christianity's Compassion for Animals --- 241.693 H682f 2010 --- You can check this book out in the mini-library located in the Math and Computer Science Building

Holy Dogs and Asses: Animals in the Christian Tradition -- 241.693 H628h 2008

Sacred Monsters: Mysterious and Mythical Creatures of Scripture, Talmud, and Midrash -- 221.64 S633s3 2018

A New Reading of the Animal Apocalypse of 1 Enoch: "All Nations Shall be Blessed" (Judaism)

Animal Sacrifices: Religious Perspectives on the Use of Animals in Science (Judaism)

Inside Islam

Animals in Islamic Tradition and Muslim Cultures

The First Eden: The Mediterranean World and Man

The Cannibal Hymn: A Cultural and Literary Study

 

Scholarly/Academic Articles

Relevant Research Databases

  Academic Search Complete --- A multidisciplinary database of more than 8,500 fulltext periodicals with pdf content going back as far as 1887.

CREDO Reference --- Collection of fulltext online reference materials. Content includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, and subject-specific titles from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare, and law to literature

 JSTOR --- JSTOR is a shared digital library that includes the fulltext of more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume published. Coverage varies depending on the journal title.

 ATLA Religion --- Produced by  the American Theological Library Association, this database is the definitive index for religious and theological literature. It is an essential resource for researchers and students in theology as well as in social sciences, history, and humanities. Coverage 1949-present

If you are not finding what you need, you can also try one of other research databases by going to the  Complete List of Library Databases.