Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion and Animals: Africana & Aboriginal Traditions

Africana/Caribbean, Oceania, First Nations (Native Americans; Indians of North America)

Where to Begin for Background Research

Books

A Few Subject Terms to Search for Books

Indians of North America -- Religion

Animals -- Religious Aspects

Human Animal Relationships

Animals -- Religion -- Mediterranean

Africa -- Religious Aspects -- Monkey  (the relationship between human beings and macaques)

Yoruba

 

A Few Titles of Books

Animals and World Religions

A Communion of Subjects: Animals in Religion, Science, and Ethics

Beastly Natures: Animals, Humans, and the Study of History

Mythical Zoo: Animals in Myth, Legend, and Literature

American Indian Myths and Legends

Meditations with Animals (note: this book pertains to Indians of North America)

Myths and Legends of North American Indians

Religion in North America (note: this book pertains to Native Americans)

The Animals Came Dancing: Native American Sacred Ecology and Animal Kinship --- 799.297 H323a --- You can check this book out in the mini-library located in the Math and Computer Science Building

The Handbook of Yoruba Religious Concepts

The Religions of Oceania

 

Scholarly/Academic Articles

Relevant Research Databases

  Academic Search Complete --- A multidisciplinary database of more than 8,500 fulltext periodicals with pdf content going back as far as 1887.

CREDO Reference --- Collection of fulltext online reference materials. Content includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, and subject-specific titles from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare, and law to literature

 JSTOR --- JSTOR is a shared digital library that includes the fulltext of more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume published. Coverage varies depending on the journal title.

 ATLA Religion --- Produced by  the American Theological Library Association, this database is the definitive index for religious and theological literature. It is an essential resource for researchers and students in theology as well as in social sciences, history, and humanities. Coverage 1949-present

If you are not finding what you need, you can also try one of other research databases by going to the  Complete List of Library Databases.