Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Empirical Research: Finding Empirical Research

Library's Subscription Databases

The Gingrich Library at Albright College subscribes to many library databases that contain empirical research articles. These include ERIC, APA PsycArticles, SocINDEX with Full Text and PubMed.

Useful Search Terms

A sample list of keywords to use. Combine these keywords with other keywords to find empirical research articles. For example "sleep deprivation" AND "study".  Another example "sleep deprivation" AND "qualitative research".

- study

- surveys

- quantitative study

- qualitative study

- interview

- longitudinal study

- empirical study

- case study

- nonclinical case study

- literature review

- systematic review

- clinical study

- meta analysis

 

Finding Empirical Research Articles

EBSCOhost's APA PsycArticles Database

  • Start with Advanced Search
  • Type in keywords that describe your topic
  • Limit your results to Full Text and Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
  • Select Empirical Study under Methodology

ERIC Database

  • Type in keywords that describe your topic.
  •  Check the Peer-reviewed only box and the Full text available on ERIC box under the search box.
  •  On the left under the Descriptor limiter select descriptors that will display empirical research results. For example Qualitative Research, Statistical Analysis etc.
  •  On the left under the Publication Type limiter select Reports - Research.

PubMed Database

1. Basic Search:

    - Type in keywords in the basic search box   

    - On the left click on Additional filters and

      select from the available studies.      

2. Advanced Search:

    - Type in a keyword and combine it with

      empirical research as a MeSH terms

    - For example (COVID-19 [Title]) AND

      (empirical research [MeSH Terms])

 

Tips for Searching

  • Go to our library's subscription databases
  • Start with the Advanced Search screen
  • Type in keywords and combine with terms like study, quantitative study, and clinical study.
  • Limit your results to peer reviewed journals
  • Limit your results by methodology or publication type