LION: Newspapers: Historical Resources

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-3

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1: 1691-1820 This link opens in a new window
This AAS collection presents over 500 titles from 1691-1820. The subject matter covers all aspects of American society during this time period.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 2: 1821-1837 This link opens in a new window
This AAS collection presents over 1000 titles from 1821-1837. The subject matter covered represents the Jacksonian democracy era and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3: 1838-185237 This link opens in a new window
This collection presents over 1,800 titles from 1838-1857.Subject matter includes science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life and religion from the time period.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4: 1853-1865 This link opens in a new window
This AAS collection presents over 1,100 titles from the time period. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection (news from the battlefront is included), the subject matter also includes all aspects of American life.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5: 1866-1877
This AAS collection covers the time period 1866-1877. The subject matter includes all aspects of American life.

- Albrightian 1921-present

- New York Times 1851-present

- Reading Eagle 1868-present

- Reading Times 1858-2002

- Berks & Schuylkill Journal 1816-1910

- The Hamburg 1902-1989

- The Miner's Journal (Pottsville, Pa) 1872-1879

- Reading Adler 1885-1912

- Reading Gazette 1840-1849

- Reading Gazette & Democrat 1850-1873

- Reading Press 1889-1893

- Schuylkill Telegram Nov. 25- Dec.23, 1893

- Spirit of Berks 1877-1881