Curriculum Library Guidelines
PLACEMENT: The Curriculum Library is housed in the Gingrich Library of Albright College. The materials will be placed on the open stacks, on shelves that are reserved for the Curriculum Library.
CATALOGING & PROCESSING: The Library is responsible for cataloging and processing all items into the collection.
- PRINT MATERIALS: All print materials will be cataloged in the Dewey Decimal system with the label Curr before the number. All items will display in the online catalog (OPAC) with the location of Curriculum Library.
- MEDIA MATERIALS : All media materials will be cataloged in the Dewey Decimal system. Items designated for the open stacks will be cataloged with the label Curr before the number. The media items that have restricted access are cataloged and placed in the AV closet for storage.
CIRCULATION: The materials that comprise this collection will be made available at any time that the library is open and will circulate to patrons following the same rules and regulations used for the general collection. Interlibrary Loan privileges will be curtailed on all Curriculum Library materials that do not have permission of the Education department to be shipped.
COLLECTION MANAGEMENT: The Curriculum Library materials will be purchased with Education Department funding. The responsibility for the growth and weeding of the collection belongs to the Education Department. The following library collection guidelines will be used before adding materials to the collection:
- Curriculum materials that are print and non-theoretical (e.g., classroom texts) will be cataloged if their copyright date is less than 10 years old or it is proven that these texts are in current use in Berks County classrooms.
- Curriculum materials that are print and theoretical (e.g., texts on educational theory) will be added into the general collection unless they are duplicate copies or older editions.
- Curriculum materials that are non-print and non-theoretical (e.g., classroom visual materials) will be cataloged only if their copyright date is less than 10 years old. Since these items are often used by the faculty when teaching, the majority of these items are helpful in the education departmental classrooms.
- Curriculum materials that are non-print and theoretical (e.g., video on child psychology) will be added into the library's AV collection and stored in the AV closet unless they are duplicate copies of already owned items.
- Curriculum materials that are serials will be accepted if the title would be acceptable to the library's collection development requirements and if the run is sufficient to justify adding the title. These publications will be shelved with all other serial publications. Single issues of serials will be added only if the issue is devoted to a single topic and can be cataloged as such.
- Curriculum materials that are brochures and pamphlets (e.g., vertical file materials) will not be accepted.
- Unless specified otherwise on a title-by-title basis, the library will add only 1 copy of the latest edition of any source to the curriculum materials collection.
- Materials from the general collection will be moved to the curriculum materials collection on a case-by-case basis, upon consultation with the Education Liaison Librarian.
- The maintenance of the Curriculum Collection is a joint venture of the Library and the Education Department.
Effective Date: November 18, 2005
Last Revised: November 18, 2005
