Gingrich Library: English Literature: Articles & Databases

Quick Tips

In order to find the best resources, follow these basic steps to develop a concise research strategy.

Create research question -- Has the ethics of whistleblowing changed since the Enron scandal (2001)
Select the concepts -- ethics, whistleblowing, Enron
Pick the keywords for the concepts -- ethics, ethical, moral, morals, whistleblowers, whistleblowing, Enron
Use Boolean operators to combine them (after adjusting for truncation)
line 1 - ethic* or moral or morals (don't want the keyword morale)
line 2 - whistleblow*
line 3 - Enron (or consider searching for items written after 2001)

Why Use a Database

Databases

Contemporary Literary Criticism This link opens in a new window
Searches Contemporary Literary Criticism published by Gale.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a shared digital library that includes the fulltext of more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume published. Coverage varies depending on the journal title.
Due to "moving wall" agreements with the publishers, JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 1-5 years after the publishing date.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
This rich full-text database provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. It gives students, professors and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.
LIterature Criticism Online--CLC This link opens in a new window
An online collection of literary criticism from 1973 to the present.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Premier database for literature and language studies. Indexes books, journals, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, bibliographies, and websites in world langauges, literature, folklore and customs. Coverage 1926-present
Includes MLA Directory of Periodicals, the MLA International Bibliography Database, and the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 400 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Coverage varies by publication; the earliest date of inclusion is 1990.

Instructional Services & Outreach Librarian

Gingrich Library

Email Me

Contact:

Gingrich Library

610-921-7211

Subjects: Area Studies, Classical Languages, German, Technology