Gingrich Library: Latin American and Caribbean Studies: Articles

Quick Tips

In order to find the best resources, follow these basic steps to develop a concise research strategy.

Create research question -- Has the ethics of whistleblowing changed since the Enron scandal (2001)
Select the concepts -- ethics, whistleblowing, Enron
Pick the keywords for the concepts -- ethics, ethical, moral, morals, whistleblowers, whistleblowing, Enron
Use Boolean operators to combine them (after adjusting for truncation)
line 1 - ethic* or moral or morals (don't want the keyword morale)
line 2 - whistleblow*
line 3 - Enron (or consider searching for items written after 2001)

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of more than 8,500 fulltext periodicals with pdf content going back as far as 1887. Includes indexing and abstracting for more than 12,500 periodicals.
EHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Very informative cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Coverage dates vary.
The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
An authoritative bibliography of Latin American Studies research in all discipline. Coverage 1935-present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a shared digital library that includes the fulltext of more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume published. Coverage varies depending on the journal title.
Due to "moving wall" agreements with the publishers, JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 1-5 years after the publishing date.
ProQuest Global Newstream This link opens in a new window
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Coverge varies by source.