French: Print Resources

Finding Books and AV Materials

To find books and AV materials at Albright, check our cataLION (Online Public Access Catalog).

If you cannot locate what you need in the OPAC, try some of the other catalogs listed to find materials in other libraries, which can be interlibrary loaned.

cataLION search tips:

• The cataLION online catalog searches like Google. It tries to match as many of your terms as possible with the best matches appearing o the first pages.
• The database will do automatic truncation, both left and right, so truncation symbols are not needed.  E.g., typing in rain will find both rainfall and brain.
• The database is searchable by title, author, subject or keyword options.  When searching by keyword mode only input the keywords and ignore the prepositions, articles, etc to make the search more efficient.
• To do a more comprehensive search, use the cataLION advanced search option. 

To find a book or AV material, enter your search here:

• To perform a more comprehensive search, use the cataLION advanced search option.
• Log in to be able to see what you checked out, place holds and create saved lists.

Finding Reference Resources

Reference sources provide solid background information on a topic or provide quick and easy access to sources with factual information. You will want to consult them when you either need good background on a topic (e.g., an encyclopedia article) or to find a quick fact or definition (e.g., dictionary or almanac).

• The ARTFL Reference Collection, dictionaries and encyclopedias in French and English.
• Cassell's French-English, English-French Dictionary. Rev. ed. [Ref 443.2 C344]
• Dictionnaire Alphabétique et Analogique de la Langue Française. [443 R642d] 6 vols.
• Dictionnaire des Personnages Littéraires et Dramatiques de Tous les Temps et de Tous les Pays : Poésie, Théâtre, Roman, Musique. [840.3 D554]
• Le Dictionnaire Multifonctions, definitions, synonyms, verb conjugations, style and a French-English, English-French dictionary.
• Harrap's New Standard French and English Dictionary. Part 1: French-English. [443.2 H296L] 2 vols.
• Harrap's Standard French and English Dictionary. Vol. 2: English-French. [443.2 H296]
• New Oxford Companion to Literature in French. [Ref 840.9 N532]
• Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary. [Ref 443.2 O98]
• Sensagent.com, multilingual dictionaries in many languages with instructions in French.
• WordReference.com : Online French, Italian and Spanish Dictionary, also includes Portuguese and a language forum.