Alumni: What Free Online Resources Can I Search?

Unfortunately, the contracts that the Library signs to provide database access have restrictions to use.  All of them are restricted to use by our current students, faculty and staff and although some allow use by anyone who uses them inside the library, that is not true for all databases.

Also, the campus computer network is restricted to current students, faculty and staff. If you need to use a library database, you may contact the Library Reference Desk (libraryREF@albright.edu or 610-921-7211) to arrange a time for you to sit down with a reference librarian to help you access the database and obtain access to this information.

There are numerous free databases on the Internet that can help you locate all types of information:

• American Memory Project – written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience
• America’s Historical Documents – the records of the Federal Government
• DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals – large list of free online journals
• Digital Public Library of America – national digital library of books, images, historic records, and audiovisual materials
• ERIC – education related materials, documents mostly full text.
• Google Scholar – academic & scholarly articles with some full text
• GreenFile – ecology resources with some full text
• HighWire Free Online Full-text Artciles – free online content from HighWire Press (Standford University
• MedlinePlus – health information from the National Library of Medicine
• PubMed Free Full Text – medical and health related information
• Springer Open (Peer Reviewed Research) – free full text peer-reviewed articles in many disciplines
• Teacher Reference – index to resources covering education topic areas
• WorldCat – search for items in libraries near you

We also recommend that you contact your local public library since they may have access to databases that are available at the library or remotely if you have a library card/membership. This access may also be available in-person at your local state university or community college.