Gingrich Library: HIS495. Gender and War.: Locate Information

Tip

To find books and other materials at Albright, check our cataLION.

If you cannot locate what you need in the cataLION, try these other catalogs to find materials in other libraries, which can be interlibrary loaned.

Find Articles

Article databases provide you with 24-7 access to magazine, journal and newspaper articles via the Internet. To help you identify the most appropriate database for your topic/subject:

consult the database descriptions on the Library's Database by Subject page
check to see if there is a LibGuide that covers your subject area or topic.

Depending on the database you are using, articles may be displayed in different formats:

Index: Includes only the article’s citation information (e.g. author, title, date, volume, etc.). Neither a summary, nor the full-text of the article are available.
Abstract: Includes the article’s citation information and a brief summary of the article's content. Abstracts do not include the full-text article.
Full-text: Includes an electronic copy of the actual article. Depending on the database, the article may be available in HTML format, .pdf format (displays the article as it originally appeared in the magazine with graphics and pictures), or both.

You can also use the Journal Locator to find journals, magazines, or newspapers that are available through the library.

Google Scholar is a free database that lets you search many academic disciplines and resources.

Find Websites

Use internet search engines to locate websites for organizations and information related to your topic.

You should always evaluate websites for accuracy and authority before using them in your research assignments.

Find Images and Videos

Some starting points to locate videos on the web:

Remember that images and videos should be evaluated for accuracy and authority just as other resources are. They may also be protected by copyright, so check any terms of use carefully.