Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FYS100I - Liberal Sciences (Hamann): Finding Articles

This guide will assist indoing the research forthe class paper assignment.

Finding Peer Reviewed Journal Articles

To find scholarly articles, note the following:

  • In the main ProQuest search screen, check the Scholarly journals including peer-reviewed box or do your search and click on the Scholarly journals link.
  • OmniFile's main search screen allows you to limit by checking the box marked Peer reviewed. You may also click on the tab at the top of the page after doing the search. These are scholarly articles but note that occasionally a scholarly journal is not peer reviewed and will not appear on the list

A scholarly article is most often written by a person with academic credentials in the discipline. The article may or may not be peer reviewed. And remember that peer reviewed journals also contain content that does not meet the criteria for being peer reviewed such as letters and book reviews. When in doubt, ask Dr. Heller.

Locating Your Material

All of the databases listed above are connected to the Journal Locator, a coordinating database for all of the print, microform and online journals available at Albright College. This every time you see an item that you would like to read that is not listed in full text or as a pdf, you will see icons that help you, They are:

image of full text linkThe Find Full Text icon will look at the article you want and try to find it somewhere at Albright -- in the databases or in print or microfiche. Use this link to move between databases and find the materials you want. If no full-text is available at Albright, you will be asked to submit your request via ILLiad so that the library can use interlibrary loan to obtain you a copy.

image of illiad request linkThe ILLiad request icon will allow you, if you have already have an account or want to create an account, to use ILLiad software to automatically generate a request for the materials you need. Articles are scanned and available electronically via ILLiad (you will receive emails telling you about the status of all requests) and take anywhere from 2 days to 2 weeks to obtain. (Books normally take 2 weeks to obtain at Albright but sometimes arrive sooner or may take longer.)

REMOTE USERS NOTE: Students, faculty and staff working off-campus will be asked to enter their LionLink username and password to access the library's databases. Anyone with problems accessing library resources should call 610-921-7211 or email libraryref@albright.edu for assistance.