Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Academic Search Premier, (1980s-present, partially full-text)
Good starting point for all academic disciplines. Search by adding title and author of book you want as keywords, then set "document type" to "book review."
- ProQuest Central,(1970s - present, date varies by subject, partially full-text)
Large multidisciplinary database and over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively. Search by adding title and author of book you want as keywords, then set "publication type" to "review".
- JSTOR, (1665-present, Over 1,000 journals, full-text) BETA version
Search by typing title of book in quotes and add author while searching in "full text", click: Limit to: Review.
NOTE: For JSTOR, "present" means it is current until that specific "moving wall" of any title. The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Moving walls are generally represented in years.
- LexisNexis Academic, (1969-present, full-text)
LexisNexis Academic is a great place to find reviews that appear in newspapers and magazines on all subject areas. It is not a good source for reviews published in scholarly journals. For newspapers, like the NY Times -- Click on the News tab, then the All News option. There, you will see check boxes for different types of critical reviews.
- Reader's Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982, (all subject areas, citations only)
Search, by adding title and author of book you want as keywords, then set "publication type" to "review."
In addition to our subscription databases, Google Scholar has quality sources including full text journal articles in all disciplines.
- Book Review Digest, (1905-2000)
In Storage -- Ask at Circulation or Reference Desk
Book Review Digest provides citations to and excerpts of reviews of current juvenile and adult fiction and nonfiction in the English language. Books are listed in each volume alphabetically by the author's last name or the title, if there is no primary author. Summaries of each book are also included. Begin by selecting the volume for the year the book was published and work your way forward chronologically.
- Book Review Index, (1966-2006)
In second floor closets near 616s
Book Review Index includes citations for reviews of any type of book, periodical, or reference work that is published and at least fifty pages long. Reviews from magazines, journals, and other reviewing sources are included. Reviews are arranged by author's last name and title. To begin, select the volume for the year the book was published and work your way forward chronologically.