It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PUH 101 -- Introduction to Public Health (Spring 2022): Library Resources
Whether you are trying to select a topic or already have in mind one that would interest you, doing some background reading on your topic can place it in context, giving you a more concrete way to focus your searching. It can often summarize history and the issues and help identify important research, making it easier to search scholarly journals.
Electronic resources listed here might be a good places to start.
Collection of fulltext online reference materials. Content includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, and subject-specific titles from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare, and law to literature. Coverage varies by title.
Ebook Central provides online access to scholarly e-books in all subject areas. You can read books online or download them. Coverage varies.
A Word about the Gingrich Library
As you all probably know, the Library is undergoing a renovation. In preparation for that project, the old building has to be emptied. Library staff, the reference collection, and a small circulating collection (the Micro Library) have been moved to the Center for Computing and Mathematics, the CCM. If you need a book that is in the old building, you can place a hold on it, and library staff will retrieve it for you.
Placing a Hold
If you want to place a hold for an item that is on a list, click the Place a Hold link that appears under the item. If you have clicked on an individual item, the Place a Hold link is on the right hand side of the screen.
Log in with your LionLINK credentials.
To complete the process, click Confirm Hold.
Professional or Scholarly Journal Databases
Off-campus users will be asked to enter their LionLink username and password to access the library’s databases. Call 610-921-7211 or email firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance.
A renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Coverage: citations to journals, 1887-present; book citations 1997-present
Offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information
online. Coverage varies by title. Most fulltext begins 1995. AS OF JANUARY 1, 2016, SCIENCEDIRECT WILL NO LONGER SUPPORT INTERNET EXPLORER 8. USERS ARE URGED TO CONSIDER USING THE LATEST VERSIONS OF CHROME OR FIREFOX.
Supports physical sciences and engineering; the life sciences; the health sciences; and the social sciences and humanities
World's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. Coverage: Full text coverage spans from 1904 to present for 777 of the journals, indexing from 1895 to present for other sources
Coverage includes abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.