Greening Our Campus -- Fall 2022: Getting Started

A simple Google search of the phrase "campus sustainability" can uncover initiatives at colleges and universities. Below are links to other information sources that can help you select and refine your topic.

Subject Specific Encyclopedias

A good encyclopedia can provide beginning researchers with the following:

• an overview of a topic and its various aspects
• the vocabulary associated with the topic
• the names of important people, companies or places,
• a bibliography to lead to other relevant items on the topic, including major studies, books, articles and researchers.

Some good examples are:

• Encyclopedia of Earth, comprehensive material in traditional environmental disciplines.
• Encyclopedia of Energy, e-book from Credo Reference (2004)

Ebooks

• Nine Elements of a Sustainable Campus
• Sustainability on Campus: Stories and Strategies for Change
• Sustainability Practice and Education on University Campuses and Beyond

Other Online Sources/Helpful Websites

• Campus Ecology Resource Center 
• Credo Reference Collection of fullext online reference materials. Content includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, and subject-specific titles from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare, and law to literature. Coverage varies by title. 
• Credo Reference The Conversation Evidence-based news source
• Gale Virtual Reference Library
• Second Nature Browse the Solutions Center for topic ideas.

A video on Constructing a Thesis Statement

Purdue Online Writing Lab

Excelsior Online Writing Lab