Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theater Research Resources: Biographies

Biography

Literature Criticism Online is a part of the Literature Resource Center -- Includes full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines. Also provides critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.

Contemporary Dramatists
Call Number: Ref 822.9 C761
Provides brief biographical and bibliographic information for dramatists, and some entries include contact information.

The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare and Contemporary Dramatists
Call Number: 822.309 C178H 2012

Historical Dictionary of Contemporary American Theater, 1930-2010
Call Number: Ref. 792.0973 F534h 2011
Brief biographies of American actors and actresses

Oxford Companion to American Theatre
Call Number: Ref. 792.0973 B729o3 2004
Covers the American stage from its beginnings to present; includes playwrights, plays, actors, directors, producers, songwriters, famous playhouses, and dramatic movements.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
Call Number: Ref 792.03 O98K 2003
International in scope, this 2-volume set includes biographies of theatre personalities

Twentieth-century American Dramatists
Call Number: 812.5 T971G2
A part of the Dictionary of Literary Biography series  which is a bio-bibliographical resource in several volumes and provides biographical and bibliographic information for many dramatists.

 

Websites