Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theater Research Resources: Images

Historical Images: Actors and Actresses

19th Century Actors and Theater Photographs -- a project of the University of Washington

The Billy Rose Theatre Photograph Collection -- New York Public Library

Portraits of Actors, 1720-1920 -- a project of the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign

Ringling Collection: Images of 19th-Century Actors and Actresses -- a project of the University of Florida

Historical Images: Costume

Motley Collection of Theatre & Costume Design -- a project of the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign

Costume Historical Image Collections -- a project of Wayne State University
Includes Digital Dress: Historic Costume Collection, Dorothea June Grossbart Historic Costume Collection, Meadow Brook Hall Historic Costume Collection, and Henry Ford Historic Costume Collection.

Theatre Productions and Players, 1920s-1957 -- a project of the New York Public Library

Chicago History Museum: Costume and Textile Collection

The History of Costume

Fashion-Era

The Theatrical Scene and Costume Design Collection -- a project of the University of Calgary

The Louisiana Research Collection: New Orleans Carnival Collection -- a project of Tulane University

Elizabethan Costume

The Metropolitan Museum of Art: Costume Institute Digital Collections