Gingrich Library: FYS 100 -- Psychoanalysis, Literature, and Film -- Fall 2017: Subject Databases

Select Subject Databases

For background information on your topic, try starting with Credo Reference, a collection of fulltext online reference materials.

Digging Deeper--Finding Magazines, Journals & Newspapers

Check scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. Library databases will lead to articles in scholarly journals and are a good place to start:

Academic Search Complete

A multidisciplinary database of more than 8,500 fulltext periodicals with pdf content going back as far as 1887. Includes indexing and abstracting for more than 12,500 periodicals.

Off-campus users will be asked to enter their LionLink username and password to access the library’s databases. Call 610-921-7211 or email libraryref@albright.edu for assistance.

PLEASE NOTE: If you feel you are not getting the materials you need, please ask for help at the Reference Desk or check out our Complete List of Library Databases .

Special Subject Databases

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
ONCE LOGGED INTO GALE, IF ASKED FOR A PASSWORD AT THE SIGN IN BOX, TYPE albright.--
GVRL is a collection of electronic reference materials in a variety of subjects.
Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective (Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective is a bibliographic database that includes citations for more than 1,300,000 articles, inlcuding book reviews, from English-language periodicals. Coverage 1907-1984
The database covers the years 1907-1984 and comprises the most important scholarly journals published throughout the 20th century. Subjects covered include: Anthropology, Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, International Relations, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism, Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, Religion and Theology, Urban Studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a shared digital library that includes the fulltext of more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume published. Coverage varies depending on the journal title.
Due to "moving wall" agreements with the publishers, JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 1-5 years after the publishing date.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
This rich full-text database provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. It gives students, professors and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 400 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Coverage varies by publication; the earliest date of inclusion is 1990.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology published by the American Psychological Association (APA). It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage 1894-present, nearly all APA journals go back to volume 1, issue1.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
A renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Coverage: citations to journals, 1887-present; book citations 1997-present