Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Try using a database like Credo Reference to learn about your topic and help you focus. Background reading can show you the different facets of a topic and provide you with more vocabulary words to use in your searching.
Another strategy is to locate a book on your topic and examine the chapter titles in the table of contents and entries in the index at the back of the book to learn more about aspects of the topic that could narrow your research question.
GREAT books to begin with -- Specialized Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Religion -- REF 203 E562 2005
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Theology -- REF 200.3 O98B 2015
- Encyclopedia of Christianity - REF 230.03 E56
- The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought -- REF 230.03 98H 2000
- Encyclopedia Judaica -- REF 296.03 E562 2007
- New Catholic Encyclopedia -- REF 282.03 N532n2 2003
- Encyclopedia of Hinduism - REF 294.5 E56 2008
- Encyclopedia of Taoism - REF 299.514 E56p 2008
- American Indian Religious Traditions - REF 299.7 C899a 2005
- Mythology of All Races - 291 G779
- Myths and Legends - 291 M999
- Legends of the Jews - 296 G493l
- Encyclopedia of Hell - REF 291.23 V278e 1998
- The Quest for the Historical Satan - 235.47 D341q 2011
- Lucifer: The Devil in the Middle Ages - 235.47 R964L
- Satanism Today: An Encyclopedia of Religion, Folklore, and Popular Culture - REF 133.4 L674 2001
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt -- REF 932 O98 2001
- Civilizations of the Ancient Near East -- REF 939.4 C582 1995
- Handbook of North American Indians -- REF 970.1 H236
- Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan -- REF 952 K76
To find books at Albright, check our CataLION (Online Public Access Catalog).
cataLION search tips:
- The cataLION online catalog searches like Google. It tries to match as many of your terms as possible with the best matches appearing on the first pages.
- The database will do automatic truncation, both left and right, so truncation symbols are not needed. E.g., typing in rain will find both rainfall and brain.
- The database is searchable by title, author, subject or keyword options. When searching by keyword mode only input the keywords and ignore the prepositions, articles, etc to make the search more efficient.
- To do a more comprehensive search, use the CataLION advanced search
Suggested Search Terms
To find more books in the library, conduct a search in the library catalog using terms such as these:
Below are synonyms for SATAN
- Prince of Darkness
- King of Hell
- Evil One
Below are synonyms for HELL
- Bottomless Pit
- Everlasting Fire
- Place of Torment
- Fire and Brimstone
- Lake of Fire
- Second Death
- Yellow Springs