Skip to main content

FYS 100 -- How We See: Searching for Sources

LION OneSearch box -- Use the tabs below to customize your search!

LION OneSearch searches cataLION & many databases. | About LION OneSearch

 

Use the cataLION catalog to find books, e-books and DVDs at Albright

  

Advanced Search

Search for articles in EBSCO Discovery Service

Search for video in EBSCO Discovery Service

Search for a specific journal title in the box below.

 

Browse By Discipline

Journal Locator -- BETA

Tips for Better Searching

  • By default, the OneSearch searches all terms you have entered, without the need to use AND.  For example: black power salute olympics will find items that contain all 4 words.
  • By default, the OneSearch searches through the full text of documents (if available).  This may cause a large number of results, and not all are relevant to your subject.  Results are returned in a relevancy ranked order.  to Improve the relevancy of your search results, enclose phrases in "quotation marks".  For example:   "migrant mother"
  • To find variant endings for a word, use the * asterisk (truncation symbol.)  For example:  migra* finds migration, migrant. Be careful though--it will also find migraine
  • To find books, e-books. videos or other items in the Albright library, refine your search by selecting " Catalog (cataLION) Only"
  • To find scholarly journal articles, refine your search by selecting "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals"

Another possibility

One of our databases, Literary Reference Center Plus, might contain information about some of the works. "Literary" in this case also extends to creative works like photographs, paintings, etc.  

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Click the Google Scholar “hamburger menu” icon in the top left of the screen.

Click Settings, then Library Links.

In the search box, enter Albright College.

Check the box for Albright College and click Save. When you do a Google Scholar search, the search results will include links to items subscribed to by the library.

Books

To find books and AV materials at Albright, check our CataLION (Online Public Access Catalog).

cataLION search tips:

  • The cataLION online catalog searches like Google. It tries to match as many of your terms as possible with the best matches appearing on the first pages.
  • The database will do automatic truncation, both left and right, so truncation symbols are not needed.  E.g., typing in rain will find both rainfall and brain.
  • The database is searchable by title, author, subject or keyword options.  When searching by keyword mode only input the keywords and ignore the prepositions, articles, etc to make the search more efficient.
  • To do a more comprehensive search, use the CataLION advanced search

Alert--Accessing the Print Collection

Access to the library's print collection is limited. However, if you need an item, you can either place a hold in the online catalog or email the Library Reference Desk at libraryref@albright.edu with the book information including the call number and the last possible date when you can use it. We will collect these requests and whenever we get access to the library, we will bring the to the Computing and Math building. We will notify you when the item(s) are available for checkout.