Gingrich Library: Environmental Sciences & Studies: Articles

Quick Tips

In order to find the best resources, follow these basic steps to develop a concise research strategy.

Create research question -- Has the ethics of whistleblowing changed since the Enron scandal (2001)
Select the concepts -- ethics, whistleblowing, Enron
Pick the keywords for the concepts -- ethics, ethical, moral, morals, whistleblowers, whistleblowing, Enron
Use Boolean operators to combine them (after adjusting for truncation)
line 1 - ethic* or moral or morals (don't want the keyword morale)
line 2 - whistleblow*
line 3 - Enron (or consider searching for items written after 2001)

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of more than 8,500 fulltext periodicals with pdf content going back as far as 1887. Includes indexing and abstracting for more than 12,500 periodicals.
Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS) This link opens in a new window
Biological Abstracts is a complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published in more than 4,000 journals internationally. Coverage 1995-present
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Coverage 1991-present
Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Sage Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Fulltext access from 1999 to a subset of the over 450 journals in 40 disciplines. Coverage 1999-present depending on source.
Select "SAGE Journals Available to Me" for fulltext articles available at Albright or search "All SAGE Content" for additional items that can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan (Tipasa).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information
online. Coverage varies by title. Most fulltext begins 1995.
Supports physical sciences and engineering; the life sciences; the health sciences; and the social sciences and humanities
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
World's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. Coverage: Full text coverage spans from 1904 to present for 777 of the journals, indexing from 1895 to present for other sources
Coverage includes abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Subject Guide

Gingrich Library

Email Me

Contact:

Gingrich Library

610-921-7211

Subjects: Area Studies, Classical Languages, German, Technology