Fashion: History of Fashion

• The Casey Fashion Plate Collection -- plates from 1780-1880
• La Belle Assemblee -- French magazine for ladies, issues are between 1806-1832
• Fashion Plate Collection from the University of Washington -- the plates span 1806-1915
• Godey's Magazine -- sample issues from this American magazine for ladies, 1831-1878
• Iowa State University: Fashion Plates Digital Collection, 1776-2003
• Peterson's Magazine -- (also known as Ladies' National Magazine) -- issues are from 1848-1889
• LIFE Magazine Photo Archive -- covers 1860s-1970s
• Frank Leslie's Ladies' Magazine -- issues are from 1862-1882
• Harper's Bazaar -- issues from 1870-1904
• Ladies' Home Journal -- 1885-1922
• Vogue, Paris -- select issues from 1920-1940

• The Metropolitan Museum of Art -- has a timeline of art history and you can explore more than 33,000 works of art in the museum's collection.
• Fashion Timeline -- from the Vintage Fashion Guild
• FIT's Fashion Timeline -- from the Fashion Institute of Technology
• ARTSTOR: Fashion & Costume -- contains many images
• Digital Dress Project -- from Wayne State University
• The Victoria and Albert Museum  -- it has an extensive costume collection
• WWD (Women's Wear Daily) -- WWD brings you breaking news about the fashion industry, designers, celebrity trend setters, and extensive coverage of fashion week.

• American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection -- Time period covers 1691-1887
• JSTOR -- provides full text online access to important scholarly journal literature in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other humanities and social sciences disciplines.
• Readers' Guide Retrospective -- A database containing comprehensive indexing of over 500 of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890 - 1982. RGR is an excellent source for locating primary materials in 20th-century American history and culture.

• Chanel: The Vocabulary of Style
• Dance and Fashion
• Feet and Footwear
• Heavenly Bodies: Fashion and the Catholic Imagination
• The House of Worth 1858-1954: The Birth of Haute Couture
• Shocking: the Art and Fashion of Elsa Schiaparelli
• Survey of Historic Costume -- 5th edition
• Sustainable Fashion and Textiles
• Versace

More books can be found in the "Mini-Library" in CCM, Room 100c 

• 746.92 -- Fashion Designers
• 391.09 -- Fashion History