Skip to main content

Information Literacy: Module 6- Subject Specific Databases

Introduction to the ACRL Information Literacy support provided by the Albright Library.

Main Links

Albright College is committed to maintaining the highest standards of information literacy and creative thinking in both its curriculum and its campus culture. The Albright College Gingrich Library provides comprehensive information literacy modules and works diligently with faculty to intergrate the standards set forth by the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL).

Mission Statement

Assignments -- Asignments, IL Modules and IL tutorials 

ACRL Framework--The new ACRL Framework that replaces the standards

The Old Standards- the ACRL division of the American Library Association has set the highest standards for College and University level Information Literacy. These standards have since been rescinded and replaced with the ACRL Framework.

Getting Assistance -- Who to contact to get assistance.

Module 6- Subject Specific Databases

Goals:

To introduce and familiarize students with the nuances of subject specific databases, search programs (i.e. SciFinder Scholar, etc.), and print resources

Outcomes:

The student will:

  • Understand how to locate, search and export citations and full-text articles from a subject specific database
  • Be able to locate and properly search print indexes and older bibliographies for useful citations.
  • Be able to evaluate various databases and determine the best resource for their research needs.          

Sample Lesson Plan:

Any lesson plan for subject specific databases will depend greatly on the research needs of the students. Therefore, a lesson plan should be developed by the subject liaison librarian and the faculty member to assure that the needs of the students in that particular class are being satisfied with a focus on the specialty features/tools of the chosen database(s). In general, a lesson plan will include lessons that include a:

  • Overview of the database’s limiters
  • Synopsis of its search box syntax (Boolean, keyword, etc.)
  • Demonstration of it’s print/save functions
  • Demonstrations of successful search strategies
  • Assignment-based student search practice

Subject Guide

Lindsay Sakmann's picture
Lindsay Sakmann
Contact:
Instructional Services &Outreach Librarian

Room: M-06

(610) 921-7212
Website