LION: BUS 374 -- International Marketing: Databases & Websites

Internet Sources

In addition to the sources like the ones below, look for the country's website for information about the population and culture.

BBC Country Profiles
CIA World Factbook
"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities"
Country Commercial Guides
Market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries prepared by trade and industry experts at U.S. embassies worldwide. Part of International Trade Administration portal.
Culture Crossing Guide
CultureReady
Global Edge Country Comparator Tool
Lex Mundi Guides to Doing Business
Pew Research Center
U.S. Department of State
This site provides links to policy and regional information and includes links to State Department publications.

Things to Think About

Use critical thinking skills and evaluate the websites you find.

Who is responsible for the site? What are their credentials?
What is the purpose of the site?
Who is the audience for the site?
Is the information current and timely?
Are the sources of information reliable?
Are there links to other relevant resources?
Are they trying to sell you something?

A Word about Google Scholar

Google Scholar

You can change the settings to see what is available at Albright.

At the Google Scholar home page:

Click Settings
Library Link
Type in Albright and click search (magnifying glass)
Click the box before Albright
Click Save

Library Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly business database providing both bibliographic and fulltext items with indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1886.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Collection of fulltext online reference materials. Content includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, and subject-specific titles from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare, and law to literature. Coverage varies by title.
Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
"provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily." Includes access to The Economist.
Mergent Online - Premium This link opens in a new window
Database of corporate information covering over 22,000 US and foreign public companies. Coverage is 15 years of financial information and 10 years of annual reports.
Information available for each company includes the following: a complete corporate history including acquisitions and changes in ownership structure; lists of subsidiaries, property holdings, and key personnel; up to 15 years of annual and quarterly financial data, including balance sheets, income statements, cash flow statements, and financial ratios; up to 10 years of scanned, full-image annual reports, along with full coverage of SEC filings; extensive information about the corporation's current long term debt; and links to recent news reports
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
World's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. Coverage: Full text coverage spans from 1904 to present for 777 of the journals, indexing from 1895 to present for other sources
Coverage includes abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

SWOT Analysis

Business Source Complete

This database can be very helpful to find country reports, SWOT analyses, industry profiles, etc. Enter your country's name and change the dropdown to GE. Use the Source Type limits on the left of the screen to select the type of report you want.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly business database providing both bibliographic and fulltext items with indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1886.

Mergent First Research This link opens in a new window
Tool that allows users to understand the challenges, opportunities and operations of more than 900 Industry Segments. Coverage is current.