Gingrich Library: PUH 350 -- Public Health & Society: Current Issues: Find Articles

Multidisciplinary Journal Databases

Off-campus users will be asked to enter their LionLink username and password to access the library’s databases. Call 610-921-7211 or email libraryref@albright.edu for assistance.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a shared digital library that includes the fulltext of more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume published. Coverage varies depending on the journal title.
Due to "moving wall" agreements with the publishers, JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 1-5 years after the publishing date.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An academic version of Google providing a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Coverage dates vary.
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations are available. Google Scholar helps identify the most relevant research across the scholarly world. Google Scholar can be used to search several Albright subsciption databases, e.g., JSTOR, Project Muse, ScienceDirect, etc.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of more than 8,500 fulltext periodicals with pdf content going back as far as 1887. Includes indexing and abstracting for more than 12,500 periodicals.

General Search Tips for Google Scholar

To create a more specific search, try the Advanced Search feature by clicking on the hamburger icon and scrolling to Advanced Search. Fill in the appropriate search boxes to increase the precision of your search.
To limit your results to specific years, use the Date options on the left hand navigation panel.
To find other relevant articles, use the Cited By link to locate other relevant articles. A high number at this link is an indication of how widely used and regarded this particular item is.
Use the Cite link judiciously. You will probably have to edit the citation to ensure good APA formatting.

Finding Google Scholar Items at Albright

Click the Google Scholar “hamburger menu” icon in the top left of the screen.

Click Settings, then Library Links.

In the search box, enter Albright College.

Check the check box for Albright College and click Save. When you do a Google Scholar search, the search results will include links to items subscribed to by the library.

Specialized Journal Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Index of medical literature produced by the National Library of Medicine. Free, unlimited access.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information
online. Coverage varies by title. Most fulltext begins 1995.
Supports physical sciences and engineering; the life sciences; the health sciences; and the social sciences and humanities
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
World's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. Coverage: Full text coverage spans from 1904 to present for 777 of the journals, indexing from 1895 to present for other sources
Coverage includes abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
A renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Coverage: citations to journals, 1887-present; book citations 1997-present