Gingrich Library: LAS 283 -- US-Mexico Borderlands (Fall 2014): Finding Journals and Magazines

Resources

Journal Resources

Multidisicplinary Databases:

Academic Search Complete	Lexis/Nexis	JSTOR
Peer-reviewed/Scholarly journals & magazines	Newspapers - U.S. & international	Peer reviewed/Scholarly journals
Popular magazines	Some popular magazines
	Media transcripts
	Trade publications

Subject Databases:

Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective (Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective is a bibliographic database that includes citations for more than 1,300,000 articles, inlcuding book reviews, from English-language periodicals. Coverage 1907-1984
The database covers the years 1907-1984 and comprises the most important scholarly journals published throughout the 20th century. Subjects covered include: Anthropology, Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, International Relations, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism, Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, Religion and Theology, Urban Studies.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 400 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Coverage varies by publication; the earliest date of inclusion is 1990.
Readers' Guide Retrospective (Wilson)
Access to citations to over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines covering the years 1890-1982. Coverage 1890-1982
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
World's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. Coverage: Full text coverage spans from 1904 to present for 777 of the journals, indexing from 1895 to present for other sources
Coverage includes abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.