Gingrich Library: Andean World: Article & News Databases

Search Process

Ask yourself some of the following questions. Your answers can help you determine the best resources to use to get the most useful and relevant material.

Is the topic historic or current or both?
What is the basic subject area of the topic, e.g.,
- sociology
- politics
- economics
- art
Where might I find the most relevant information?
- books
- articles
- news stories
- websites
Who is a stakeholder in this topic?

Follow these basic steps to develop a concise research strategy:

Create research question -- Has the ethics of whistleblowing changed since the Enron scandal (2001)
Select the concepts -- ethics, whistleblowing, Enron
Pick the keywords for the concepts -- ethics, ethical, moral, morals, whistleblowers, whistleblowing, Enron
Select appropriate resources
Evaluate your retrieval to be sure you items are appropriate and adjust your search as necessary.

Databases

Try searching with both Spanish and English terms. Some databases also have the ability to let you limit by language.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of more than 8,500 fulltext periodicals with pdf content going back as far as 1887. Includes indexing and abstracting for more than 12,500 periodicals.
Clase and Periodica This link opens in a new window
Great database to find scholarly information on Latin American social sciences, humanities, and sciences.
Coverage 1992-present (Clase) & 1978-present (Periodica)
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities which offers access to more than 300,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages. CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.
EHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Very informative cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Coverage dates vary.
The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a shared digital library that includes the fulltext of more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume published. Coverage varies depending on the journal title.
Due to "moving wall" agreements with the publishers, JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 1-5 years after the publishing date.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—create a free account to use personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
ProQuest Global Newstream This link opens in a new window
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Coverge varies by source.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
World's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. Coverage: Full text coverage spans from 1904 to present for 777 of the journals, indexing from 1895 to present for other sources
Coverage includes abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.