Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Select Subject Databases
- MLA International Bibliography - the premier index for English criticism. Includes foreign language and hard to find resources. all items are citation but links to full text in other sources are available.
- JSTOR s a pdf archive of journal articles in various subject areas. Because it is an "archive," there are no current articles.
- Project Muse - is a collection of more current pulications in full text, with a good concentration on the humanities and English criticism.
Literary Reference Center Plus
This rich full-text database provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. It gives students, professors and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.
Special Subject Databases
Check scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. These databases will lead to articles in scholarly journals and are a good place to start:
Academic Search Complete - A multidisciplinary database of more than 8,500 fulltext periodicals with pdf content going back as far as 1887. Includes indexing and abstracting for more than 12,500 periodicals.
Off-campus users will be asked to enter their LionLink (network/Moodle) username and password to access the library’s databases. Call 610-921-7211 or email firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance.
In addition to our subscription databases, Google Scholar has quality sources including full text journal articles in all disciplines.
PLEASE NOTE: This is not an exhaustive list of all the database provided by the library. If you feel you are not getting the materials you need, please ask for help at the Reference Desk or check out our Complete List of Library Databases.
A simple way to start searching for literary criticism in an electronic database is by entering the author's name or the name of the literary work along with "and" and the term "criticism."
"Dorothy Allison" AND Criticism
"Bastard Out of Carolina" AND Criticism