Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Select Subject Databases
If you don't know which database to select, try one of the databases or subject guides listed below:
Digging Deeper--Finding Magazines, Journals & Newspapers
Check scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. Library databases will lead to articles in scholarly journals and are a good place to start:
A multidisciplinary database of more than 8,500 fulltext periodicals with pdf content going back as far as 1887. Includes indexing and abstracting for more than 12,500 periodicals.
Off-campus users will be asked to enter their LionLink username and password to access the library’s databases. Call 610-921-7211 or email firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance.
PLEASE NOTE: If you feel you are not getting the materials you need, please ask for help at the Reference Desk or check out our Complete List of Library Databases.
Special Subject Databases
JSTOR is a shared digital library that includes the fulltext of more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume published. Coverage varies depending on the journal title.a pdf archive of journal articles in various subject areas. Because it is an "archive," there are no current articles
- Oxford English Dictionary
Pre-eminent dictionary of the English language, with authoritative definitions of more than 500,000 words. Coverage is based on the second edition of the printed work and its three-volume Additions series, and also incorporates draft material and revisions for the third edition
- Project Muse
Provides full-text access to more than 400 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Coverage varies by publication.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective
The most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada. Coverage includes politics and foreign affairs. The retrospective database covers the years 1890-1982